Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Salem, WV

Salem University

Private for-profit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $9,886 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $18,650.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $34,642 ten years after entering, the 23rd percentile among private for-profit 4-years.

  3. 20% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
1,450

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $18,650 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $9,886 and $14,716 a year depending on income at Salem University.

Statement of cost · Salem University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$18,650
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$9,886
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$12,303
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$11,900

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $9,886; $30–48k: $10,753; $48–75k: $11,154; $75–110k: $14,107; over $110k: $14,716. Shaded band: middle half of private for-profit 4-years, from $21,630 to $34,047; dotted line at the median, $28,553.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private for-profit 4-years (all incomes), $21,630 to $34,047. Dotted line: the median, $28,553.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$9,886
$30k–$48k$10,753
$48k–$75k$11,154
$75k–$110k$14,107
Over $110k$14,716

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $34,642; the median graduate who borrowed owes $24,694.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$31,612
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$36,162
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
23rd percentile among private for-profit 4-years
$34,642
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
68th percentile among private for-profit 4-years
$24,694
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$7,405

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private for-profit 4-years at 10 years: $34,657 to $47,785.

6 yrs after entry: $31,612; 8 yrs after entry: $36,162; 10 yrs after entry: $34,642. Median graduate debt: $24,694. Shaded band: middle half of private for-profit 4-years at 10 years, from $34,657 to $47,785; dotted line at the median, $40,092.
  • Shaded: middle half of private for-profit 4-years, 10 years out ($34,657 to $47,785); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $24,694.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$31,612
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$36,162
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$34,642
Median graduate debt$24,694

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Salem University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree58$60,529not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree50$44,199$31,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree27$39,466not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionGraduate/Professional Certificate24not reportednot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionMaster's Degree19not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree12not reported$37,874
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree11not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree10$42,215$30,949
Curriculum and InstructionMaster's Degree9$69,475not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsAssociate's Degree8$47,103not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree6not reported$27,037
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree6not reportednot reported
Show all 21 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree4not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralAssociate's Degree4not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsMaster's Degree4not reportednot reported
Security Science and TechnologyMaster's Degree4not reportednot reported
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessMaster's Degree2not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree2not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsAssociate's Degree0not reportednot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionPost-baccalaureate Certificatenot reported$73,266$17,125

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Salem University: 892 undergraduates; 75% of students receive Pell grants.

Admission rate

not reported

Undergraduates

892

70th percentile among private for-profit 4-years

Pell share

75%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

87th percentile among private for-profit 4-years

Completion

20%

finish within 150% of normal time

13th percentile among private for-profit 4-years

First-generation

54%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$19,775

42nd percentile among private for-profit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k42%
  • $30k–$48k22%
  • $48k–$75k14%
  • $75k–$110k12%
  • Over $110k10%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k42%
$30k–$48k22%
$48k–$75k14%
$75k–$110k12%
Over $110k10%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.