Statement · Stanford, CA
Stanford University
Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid −$2,536 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $87,833.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $124,080 ten years after entering, the 99th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.
92% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Founded
- 1885
- Enrollment, 2023
- 20,955
- Website
- stanford.edu

AboutPrivate university in California, US. Wikipedia ↗
Read the Wikipedia extract
Leland Stanford Junior University, commonly referred to as Stanford University, is a private research university in Stanford, California, United States. It was founded in 1885 by railroad magnate Leland Stanford and his wife, Jane, in memory of their only child, Leland Jr.
From the Wikipedia article “Stanford University”, revision 1364372408, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $87,833 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between −$2,536 and $53,882 a year depending on income at Stanford University.
Statement of cost · Stanford University
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $87,833
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- −$2,536
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $13,807
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $65,910
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | −$2,536 |
| $30k–$48k | −$193 |
| $48k–$75k | $3,212 |
| $75k–$110k | $11,092 |
| Over $110k | $53,882 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
A negative figure is reported as is: on average, grants and aid exceeded the listed cost.
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $124,080; the median graduate who borrowed owes $12,000.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $102,887
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $109,851
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
99th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years - $124,080
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
4th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years - $12,000
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $9,851
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.
- Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $12,000.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $102,887 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $109,851 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $124,080 |
| Median graduate debt | $12,000 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Master's Degree | 493 | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | Master's Degree | 383 | $331,747 | not reported |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | 293 | $247,797 | $10,399 |
| Civil Engineering | Master's Degree | 212 | $122,256 | not reported |
| Law | First Professional Degree | 183 | $289,230 | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | Master's Degree | 148 | $161,655 | not reported |
| Human Biology | Bachelor's Degree | 140 | $79,098 | $12,500 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Master's Degree | 138 | $230,373 | not reported |
| Education, General | Master's Degree | 120 | $88,795 | not reported |
| Economics | Bachelor's Degree | 112 | $148,692 | $12,500 |
| Engineering-Related Fields | Master's Degree | 110 | $227,320 | not reported |
| Legal Research and Advanced Professional Studies | Master's Degree | 94 | not reported | not reported |
Show all 23 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Engineering, Other | Bachelor's Degree | 89 | $122,212 | $7,500 |
| Medicine | First Professional Degree | 87 | $146,203 | not reported |
| Cognitive Science | Bachelor's Degree | 83 | not reported | $8,055 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | Doctoral Degree | 72 | $314,606 | not reported |
| Political Science and Government | Bachelor's Degree | 72 | $73,221 | $12,000 |
| Mathematics | Bachelor's Degree | 65 | not reported | not reported |
| International Relations and National Security Studies | Bachelor's Degree | 61 | $128,687 | not reported |
| Physics | Doctoral Degree | 60 | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Master's Degree | 0 | $283,761 | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | Doctoral Degree | 42 | not reported | not reported |
| Chemistry | Doctoral Degree | 44 | not reported | not reported |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
Stanford University: 7,554 undergraduates; 19% of students receive Pell grants; 4% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
4%
below the 1st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Undergraduates
7,554
96th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Pell share
19%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
19th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Completion
92%
finish within 150% of normal time
95th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
First-generation
30%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$44,842
52nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
not reported
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | not reported |
| $30k–$48k | not reported |
| $48k–$75k | not reported |
| $75k–$110k | not reported |
| Over $110k | not reported |
How it has changed
Average net price rose from $13,742 in 2009 to $13,807 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,351 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,427 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,391 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,404 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | 13% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,443 |
| 2002 | 13% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 7,360 |
| 2003 | 13% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 7,054 |
| 2004 | 13% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,500 |
| 2005 | 12% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,576 |
| 2006 | 11% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,391 |
| 2007 | 10% | not reported | not reported | $77,900 | 6,520 |
| 2008 | 9% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 6,502 |
| 2009 | 8% | $51,760 | $13,742 | $74,900 | 6,564 |
| 2010 | 7% | $54,009 | $16,361 | not reported | 6,887 |
| 2011 | 7% | $55,918 | $16,835 | $80,900 | 6,927 |
| 2012 | 7% | $57,755 | $17,215 | $86,000 | 6,999 |
| 2013 | 6% | $58,408 | $15,713 | $85,700 | 6,980 |
| 2014 | 5% | $60,311 | $14,559 | $94,000 | 7,018 |
| 2015 | 5% | $62,363 | $13,857 | not reported | 6,994 |
| 2016 | 5% | $64,477 | $14,155 | not reported | 7,032 |
| 2017 | 5% | $66,696 | $13,261 | not reported | 7,056 |
| 2018 | 4% | $69,109 | $12,265 | not reported | 7,083 |
| 2019 | 4% | $71,587 | $11,496 | not reported | 6,994 |
| 2020 | 5% | $74,570 | $12,894 | $124,080 | 6,366 |
| 2021 | 4% | $70,869 | $7,200 | not reported | 7,645 |
| 2022 | 4% | $78,898 | $10,851 | not reported | 7,761 |
| 2023 | 4% | $82,162 | $12,136 | not reported | 7,841 |
| 2024 | 4% | $87,833 | $13,807 | not reported | 7,554 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Who Wikipedia remembers
Wikidata records 17,293 people who studied at Stanford University, most often in science & academia (58%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.
What the recorded alumni are remembered for
Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.
Table of the same numbers
| Field | People recorded | Share |
|---|---|---|
| science & academia | 9,237 | 57.8% |
| medicine | 250 | 1.6% |
| law | 353 | 2.2% |
| politics & gov | 525 | 3.3% |
| business | 895 | 5.6% |
| engineering & tech | 1,233 | 7.7% |
| writing & journalism | 1,074 | 6.7% |
| film & stage | 340 | 2.1% |
| music | 176 | 1.1% |
| visual arts | 229 | 1.4% |
| sports | 1,478 | 9.3% |
| religion | 40 | 0.3% |
| military | 151 | 0.9% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
most recorded occupationsresearcher (5,337) · university teacher (2,169) · computer scientist (598) · writer (581) · basketball player (540) · economist (516) · businessperson (455) · politician (410)
Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade
Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.
Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Born | Women | Men | Share women |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1840s | not reported | 2 | not reported |
| 1850s | 1 | 2 | not reported |
| 1860s | 18 | 18 | 50% |
| 1870s | 23 | 105 | 18% |
| 1880s | 25 | 83 | 23% |
| 1890s | 30 | 96 | 24% |
| 1900s | 50 | 225 | 18% |
| 1910s | 39 | 297 | 12% |
| 1920s | 63 | 401 | 14% |
| 1930s | 80 | 632 | 11% |
| 1940s | 195 | 915 | 18% |
| 1950s | 286 | 861 | 25% |
| 1960s | 289 | 606 | 32% |
| 1970s | 243 | 476 | 34% |
| 1980s | 175 | 337 | 34% |
| 1990s | 117 | 170 | 41% |
| 2000s | 83 | 126 | 40% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
Wikipedia attention, by month
Wikipedia attention
monthly views
Table of the same numbers
| Month | Views |
|---|---|
| 2026-06 | 70,617 |
| 2026-05 | 78,644 |
| 2026-04 | 73,242 |
| 2026-03 | 73,070 |
| 2026-02 | 81,086 |
| 2026-01 | 77,407 |
| 2025-12 | 73,973 |
| 2025-11 | 80,914 |
| 2025-10 | 91,245 |
| 2025-09 | 83,869 |
| 2025-08 | 88,084 |
| 2025-07 | 75,414 |
| 2025-06 | 74,033 |
| 2025-05 | 81,211 |
| 2025-04 | 88,401 |
| 2025-03 | 101,445 |
| 2025-02 | 89,692 |
| 2025-01 | 106,365 |
| 2024-12 | 95,084 |
| 2024-11 | 102,866 |
| 2024-10 | 104,425 |
| 2024-09 | 114,677 |
| 2024-08 | 121,352 |
| 2024-07 | 145,728 |
| 2024-06 | 100,989 |
| 2024-05 | 111,731 |
| 2024-04 | 109,405 |
| 2024-03 | 122,860 |
| 2024-02 | 110,313 |
| 2024-01 | 129,632 |
| 2023-12 | 116,921 |
| 2023-11 | 114,044 |
| 2023-10 | 118,406 |
| 2023-09 | 130,580 |
| 2023-08 | 128,625 |
| 2023-07 | 138,822 |
| 2023-06 | 134,440 |
| 2023-05 | 130,766 |
| 2023-04 | 131,233 |
| 2023-03 | 144,049 |
| 2023-02 | 118,940 |
| 2023-01 | 125,751 |
| 2022-12 | 118,520 |
| 2022-11 | 140,742 |
| 2022-10 | 197,437 |
| 2022-09 | 128,171 |
| 2022-08 | 129,622 |
| 2022-07 | 150,413 |
| 2022-06 | 120,780 |
| 2022-05 | 125,853 |
| 2022-04 | 134,917 |
| 2022-03 | 123,371 |
| 2022-02 | 118,384 |
| 2022-01 | 130,087 |
| 2021-12 | 115,144 |
| 2021-11 | 121,887 |
| 2021-10 | 138,188 |
| 2021-09 | 132,759 |
| 2021-08 | 128,415 |
| 2021-07 | 130,623 |
| 2021-06 | 102,437 |
| 2021-05 | 107,554 |
| 2021-04 | 126,649 |
| 2021-03 | 125,980 |
| 2021-02 | 142,346 |
| 2021-01 | 139,862 |
| 2020-12 | 127,487 |
| 2020-11 | 141,576 |
| 2020-10 | 126,361 |
| 2020-09 | 117,477 |
| 2020-08 | 126,604 |
| 2020-07 | 117,377 |
| 2020-06 | 118,329 |
| 2020-05 | 138,993 |
| 2020-04 | 155,845 |
| 2020-03 | 138,151 |
| 2020-02 | 120,387 |
| 2020-01 | 134,634 |
| 2019-12 | 148,016 |
| 2019-11 | 140,920 |
| 2019-10 | 148,840 |
| 2019-09 | 143,136 |
| 2019-08 | 124,687 |
| 2019-07 | 120,070 |
| 2019-06 | 122,058 |
| 2019-05 | 119,293 |
| 2019-04 | 123,602 |
| 2019-03 | 135,712 |
| 2019-02 | 110,012 |
| 2019-01 | 127,886 |
| 2018-12 | 133,940 |
| 2018-11 | 117,786 |
| 2018-10 | 139,505 |
| 2018-09 | 155,548 |
| 2018-08 | 119,752 |
| 2018-07 | 113,713 |
| 2018-06 | 111,080 |
| 2018-05 | 125,726 |
| 2018-04 | 124,121 |
| 2018-03 | 131,683 |
| 2018-02 | 113,687 |
| 2018-01 | 124,800 |
| 2017-12 | 122,123 |
| 2017-11 | 133,548 |
| 2017-10 | 118,639 |
| 2017-09 | 117,450 |
| 2017-08 | 107,345 |
| 2017-07 | 110,602 |
| 2017-06 | 106,321 |
| 2017-05 | 114,021 |
| 2017-04 | 122,070 |
| 2017-03 | 128,336 |
| 2017-02 | 108,737 |
| 2017-01 | 126,107 |
| 2016-12 | 112,741 |
| 2016-11 | 121,854 |
| 2016-10 | 135,233 |
| 2016-09 | 140,892 |
| 2016-08 | 129,564 |
| 2016-07 | 111,088 |
| 2016-06 | 124,004 |
| 2016-05 | 118,180 |
| 2016-04 | 123,037 |
| 2016-03 | 122,409 |
| 2016-02 | 121,518 |
| 2016-01 | 155,093 |
| 2015-12 | 135,676 |
| 2015-11 | 152,018 |
| 2015-10 | 137,461 |
| 2015-09 | 165,438 |
| 2015-08 | 143,828 |
| 2015-07 | 106,160 |
Source: Wikimedia pageviews.
Nobel laureates who studied here
- John Steinbeck Literature 1962
- Gérard Debreu Economics 1983
- Dudley R. Herschbach Chemistry 1986
- Henry Way Kendall Physics 1990
- Jerome Isaac Friedman Physics 1990
- Richard E. Taylor Physics 1990
Show all 21
- John Harsanyi Economics 1994
- Karl Barry Sharpless Chemistry 2001
- Eric Allin Cornell Physics 2001
- Carl Wieman Physics 2001
- Theodor W. Hänsch Physics 2005
- Robert H. Grubbs Chemistry 2005
- Roger D. Kornberg Chemistry 2006
- Andrew Fire Medicine 2006
- Alvin Eliot Roth Economics 2012
- Randy Schekman Medicine 2013
- Paul L. Modrich Chemistry 2015
- Bengt Holmström Economics 2016
- M. Stanley Whittingham Chemistry 2019
- Paul Milgrom Economics 2020
- Karl Barry Sharpless Chemistry 2022
The portrait wall
Ordered by Wikipedia footprint (language editions).
- Herbert Hoover
Underwood & Underwood · Public domain
- Mitt Romney
United States Congress · Public domain
Show all 15 portraits
- Tiger Woods
The White House from Washington, DC · Public domain
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
- Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
- Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.
Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1364372408), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.