Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Merced, CA

University of California-Merced

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $7,945 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $39,665.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $64,368 ten years after entering, the 85th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 69% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
9,511

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $39,665 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $7,945 and $28,734 a year depending on income at University of California-Merced.

Statement of cost · University of California-Merced

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$39,665
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$7,945
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$11,983
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$15,623

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $7,945; $30–48k: $8,465; $48–75k: $11,557; $75–110k: $14,828; over $110k: $28,734. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$7,945
$30k–$48k$8,465
$48k–$75k$11,557
$75k–$110k$14,828
Over $110k$28,734

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $64,368; the median graduate who borrowed owes $16,144.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$48,475
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$56,207
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
85th percentile among public 4-years
$64,368
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
33rd percentile among public 4-years
$16,144
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$12,750

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $48,475; 8 yrs after entry: $56,207; 10 yrs after entry: $64,368. Median graduate debt: $16,144. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $16,144.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$48,475
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$56,207
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$64,368
Median graduate debt$16,144

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of California-Merced
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree365not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree308$67,342$18,325
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree217$102,036$19,086
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsBachelor's Degree187not reportednot reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree150$85,156$18,500
Public HealthBachelor's Degree112not reported$15,502
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree102$59,111$17,500
SociologyBachelor's Degree95$49,395$17,515
Cognitive ScienceBachelor's Degree54$57,358$21,000
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree50$89,244$21,234
Applied MathematicsBachelor's Degree38$79,461$16,497
ChemistryBachelor's Degree31$64,086$15,000
Show all 21 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
EconomicsBachelor's Degree27$71,331$19,303
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree24not reported$24,000
AnthropologyBachelor's Degree21$50,370not reported
Environmental/Environmental Health EngineeringBachelor's Degree19$83,194$21,665
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesMaster's Degree19not reportednot reported
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical SciencesDoctoral Degree19not reportednot reported
Geological and Earth Sciences/GeosciencesBachelor's Degree16not reportednot reported
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group StudiesBachelor's Degree14not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree1$61,387$16,000

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of California-Merced: 8,372 undergraduates; 59% of students receive Pell grants; 91% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

91%

71st percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

8,372

67th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

59%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

94th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

69%

finish within 150% of normal time

88th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

57%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$33,931

48th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

not reported

Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30knot reported
$30k–$48knot reported
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.