Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Huntsville, AL

Oakwood University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $23,999 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $40,176.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $42,488 ten years after entering, the 22nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 45% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
1,650

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $40,176 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $22,444 and $28,074 a year depending on income at Oakwood University.

Statement of cost · Oakwood University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$40,176
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$23,999
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$25,669
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$22,512

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $23,999; $30–48k: $22,444; $48–75k: $24,501; $75–110k: $28,074; over $110k: $27,219. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$23,999
$30k–$48k$22,444
$48k–$75k$24,501
$75k–$110k$28,074
Over $110k$27,219

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $42,488; the median graduate who borrowed owes $27,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$30,969
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$36,092
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
22nd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$42,488
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
89th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$27,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$21,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $30,969; 8 yrs after entry: $36,092; 10 yrs after entry: $42,488. Median graduate debt: $27,000. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $27,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$30,969
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$36,092
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$42,488
Median graduate debt$27,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Oakwood University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree34not reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree25not reported$51,250
Theological and Ministerial StudiesBachelor's Degree13not reportednot reported
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree12not reportednot reported
Practical Nursing, Vocational Nursing and Nursing AssistantsBachelor's Degree11not reportednot reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree9not reportednot reported
MusicBachelor's Degree8not reportednot reported
Social WorkBachelor's Degree7not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree7not reportednot reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Show all 20 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Romance Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree6not reportednot reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree5not reportednot reported
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition ServicesBachelor's Degree5not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree4not reported$35,500
Pastoral Counseling and Specialized MinistriesBachelor's Degree3not reportednot reported
JournalismBachelor's Degree2not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Oakwood University: 1,153 undergraduates; 44% of students receive Pell grants; 45% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

45%

17th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

1,153

56th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

44%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

71st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

45%

finish within 150% of normal time

28th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

18%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$36,829

38th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k35%
  • $30k–$48k17%
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k35%
$30k–$48k17%
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.