Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Sacramento, CA

California State University-Sacramento

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $6,501 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $22,945.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $64,876 ten years after entering, the 85th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 56% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
36,945

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $22,945 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $6,501 and $18,861 a year depending on income at California State University-Sacramento.

Statement of cost · California State University-Sacramento

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$22,945
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$6,501
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$9,338
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$8,018

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $6,501; $30–48k: $7,001; $48–75k: $9,212; $75–110k: $11,814; over $110k: $18,861. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$6,501
$30k–$48k$7,001
$48k–$75k$9,212
$75k–$110k$11,814
Over $110k$18,861

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $64,876; the median graduate who borrowed owes $15,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$51,074
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$58,491
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
85th percentile among public 4-years
$64,876
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
30th percentile among public 4-years
$15,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$12,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $51,074; 8 yrs after entry: $58,491; 10 yrs after entry: $64,876. Median graduate debt: $15,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $15,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$51,074
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$58,491
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$64,876
Median graduate debt$15,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at California State University-Sacramento
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree1,005$68,332$13,750
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree636$55,115$15,500
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree539$63,820$13,745
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree424not reportednot reported
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree416$66,096$14,449
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree400$63,101$15,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree318$61,913$18,129
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree307$67,859$15,019
SociologyBachelor's Degree301$58,159$16,100
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree267$108,027$15,625
Social WorkBachelor's Degree186$56,867$18,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree181$138,606$19,000
Show all 28 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree180$91,357$19,399
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree180$107,931not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree172$66,718$16,084
Public HealthBachelor's Degree171not reportednot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree167$67,897$17,625
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree150$55,823$15,000
Civil EngineeringBachelor's Degree145$95,595$19,124
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree140$51,013$15,000
Construction EngineeringBachelor's Degreenot reported$127,606$15,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree69$113,277not reported
Civil EngineeringMaster's Degree21$102,565not reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree62$107,734$17,500
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree26not reportednot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree95$106,616$19,430
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree131$90,404not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degreenot reported$110,544not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

California State University-Sacramento: 28,350 undergraduates; 49% of students receive Pell grants; 94% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

94%

82nd percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

28,350

93rd percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

49%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

86th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

56%

finish within 150% of normal time

72nd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

49%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$27,217

34th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k39%
  • $30k–$48k21%
  • $48k–$75k19%
  • $75k–$110k10%
  • Over $110k11%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k39%
$30k–$48k21%
$48k–$75k19%
$75k–$110k10%
Over $110k11%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.