Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · San Marcos, CA

California State University-San Marcos

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $6,230 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $21,649.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $62,908 ten years after entering, the 80th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 55% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
16,760

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $21,649 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $6,230 and $18,734 a year depending on income at California State University-San Marcos.

Statement of cost · California State University-San Marcos

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$21,649
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$6,230
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$10,229
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$8,082

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $6,230; $30–48k: $7,240; $48–75k: $8,928; $75–110k: $12,525; over $110k: $18,734. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$6,230
$30k–$48k$7,240
$48k–$75k$8,928
$75k–$110k$12,525
Over $110k$18,734

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $62,908; the median graduate who borrowed owes $17,350.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$48,673
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$57,040
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
80th percentile among public 4-years
$62,908
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
36th percentile among public 4-years
$17,350
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$13,500

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $48,673; 8 yrs after entry: $57,040; 10 yrs after entry: $62,908. Median graduate debt: $17,350. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $17,350.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$48,673
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$57,040
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$62,908
Median graduate debt$17,350

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at California State University-San Marcos
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree471$74,005$19,015
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree315$54,559$18,312
SociologyBachelor's Degree295$51,480$15,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree278$105,792$25,047
CriminologyBachelor's Degree234$54,589$14,810
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree201$55,408$16,500
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree188$76,916$24,174
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree164$63,880$18,257
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree163$49,769$17,193
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree155$55,289$15,125
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree152$110,266$12,850
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree117not reported$15,150
Show all 27 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Visual and Performing Arts, GeneralBachelor's Degree76$41,204$18,750
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree74$51,512$15,500
HistoryBachelor's Degree73$43,090$16,923
Social WorkMaster's Degree69$72,619not reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree67not reportednot reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree63$53,339$19,485
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree59$110,496not reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesBachelor's Degree58not reported$15,998
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree37$134,848not reported
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree21$82,880not reported
Computer Systems AnalysisBachelor's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported
BiotechnologyMaster's Degree14not reportednot reported
Communication Disorders Sciences and ServicesMaster's Degree33not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degreenot reported$81,423$22,500
EconomicsBachelor's Degree52$77,155$17,500

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

California State University-San Marcos: 14,877 undergraduates; 43% of students receive Pell grants; 95% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

95%

84th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

14,877

81st percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

43%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

79th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

55%

finish within 150% of normal time

69th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

48%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$31,283

43rd percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k35%
  • $30k–$48k19%
  • $48k–$75k19%
  • $75k–$110k12%
  • Over $110k15%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k35%
$30k–$48k19%
$48k–$75k19%
$75k–$110k12%
Over $110k15%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.