Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Irvine, CA

University of California-Irvine

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $8,123 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $38,632.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $80,735 ten years after entering, the 97th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 87% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1965
Enrollment, 2023
38,000
Website
uci.edu
Campus of University of California-Irvine

Original University of California seal: probably Tiffany & Co,; This SVG… · Public domain

AboutPublic university in Irvine, California, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of California, Irvine is a public land-grant research university in Irvine, California, United States. One of the ten campuses of the University of California system, UCI offers 87 undergraduate degrees and 129 graduate and professional degrees, and roughly 30,000 undergraduates and 7,000 graduate students were enrolled at UCI as of Fall 2024. The university is classified among "R1: Doctoral Universities – Very high research activity" and had $609.6 million in research and development expenditures in 2023, ranking it 56th nationally. UCI became a member of the Association of American Universities in 1996.

From the Wikipedia article “University of California, Irvine”, revision 1363613452, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $38,632 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $8,123 and $30,546 a year depending on income at University of California-Irvine.

Statement of cost · University of California-Irvine

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$38,632
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$8,123
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$14,251
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$15,722

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $8,123; $30–48k: $9,313; $48–75k: $11,642; $75–110k: $15,164; over $110k: $30,546. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$8,123
$30k–$48k$9,313
$48k–$75k$11,642
$75k–$110k$15,164
Over $110k$30,546

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $80,735; the median graduate who borrowed owes $15,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$56,210
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$67,970
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
97th percentile among public 4-years
$80,735
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
30th percentile among public 4-years
$15,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$13,820

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $56,210; 8 yrs after entry: $67,970; 10 yrs after entry: $80,735. Median graduate debt: $15,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $15,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$56,210
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$67,970
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$80,735
Median graduate debt$15,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of California-Irvine
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree766$72,132$15,767
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree633$62,639$13,000
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree576$74,617$15,000
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree467$132,705$15,500
CriminologyBachelor's Degree465$59,960$15,865
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree457$56,253$14,883
Public HealthBachelor's Degree392$64,449$17,285
EconomicsBachelor's Degree386$73,054$15,499
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree360$89,501$13,000
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree284$95,534$14,500
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree274not reportednot reported
Education, GeneralBachelor's Degree272$58,011$15,575
Show all 26 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree269$69,342$16,293
SociologyBachelor's Degree254$56,549$15,000
MathematicsBachelor's Degree250$75,692$19,000
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree243$115,244$19,233
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree205not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree205$146,412not reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree175$44,541$16,300
Computer EngineeringMaster's Degree144not reportednot reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree0$246,519not reported
Human Computer InteractionMaster's Degree32not reportednot reported
LawFirst Professional Degree128$136,056not reported
MedicineFirst Professional Degree99$143,998not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree18$150,439not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree47$118,467$13,400

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of California-Irvine: 30,197 undergraduates; 36% of students receive Pell grants; 29% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

29%

3rd percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

30,197

94th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

36%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

63rd percentile among public 4-years

Completion

87%

finish within 150% of normal time

98th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

44%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$34,735

49th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k38%
  • $30k–$48k21%
  • $48k–$75k18%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k38%
$30k–$48k21%
$48k–$75k18%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 2,623 people who studied at University of California-Irvine, most often in science & academia (56%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 56% (1,342 people); medicine 1.7% (41 people); law 0.6% (15 people); politics & gov 1.0% (24 people); business 1.1% (25 people); engineering & tech 6.9% (164 people); writing & journalism 4.5% (106 people); film & stage 4.2% (99 people); music 0.9% (21 people); visual arts 2.6% (63 people); sports 20% (472 people); military 0.3% (6 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia1,34256.4%
medicine411.7%
law150.6%
politics & gov241.0%
business251.1%
engineering & tech1646.9%
writing & journalism1064.5%
film & stage994.2%
music210.9%
visual arts632.6%
sports47219.9%
military60.3%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,008) · basketball player (379) · university teacher (190) · computer scientist (135) · writer (65) · actor (48) · academic (39) · economist (39)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 60% for the 1930s to 39% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 2 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1860s1not reportednot reported
1900s3not reportednot reported
1920s21not reported
1930s6460%
1940s124521%
1950s318826%
1960s327530%
1970s475048%
1980s338827%
1990s246328%
2000s111739%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 43,402 in 2019-03.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-069,480
2026-0512,248
2026-0413,078
2026-0312,614
2026-029,937
2026-0110,448
2025-1210,795
2025-1110,936
2025-1012,925
2025-0912,889
2025-0812,902
2025-0710,990
2025-0612,499
2025-0514,745
2025-0418,524
2025-0325,276
2025-0212,988
2025-0114,452
2024-1213,844
2024-1115,671
2024-1035,330
2024-0925,895
2024-0814,086
2024-0713,814
2024-0614,542
2024-0518,497
2024-0417,741
2024-0321,345
2024-0215,421
2024-0116,801
2023-1214,999
2023-1115,522
2023-1015,753
2023-0916,670
2023-0817,127
2023-0716,818
2023-0615,366
2023-0517,784
2023-0420,203
2023-0321,655
2023-0214,837
2023-0115,686
2022-1213,905
2022-1116,406
2022-1016,965
2022-0920,452
2022-0817,029
2022-0715,792
2022-0616,071
2022-0518,664
2022-0420,480
2022-0319,503
2022-0214,801
2022-0114,751
2021-1214,406
2021-1115,749
2021-1018,105
2021-0917,833
2021-0816,921
2021-0716,957
2021-0613,695
2021-0514,942
2021-0418,977
2021-0320,963
2021-0212,951
2021-0113,458
2020-1215,048
2020-1115,149
2020-1015,078
2020-0913,910
2020-0814,137
2020-0714,237
2020-0614,473
2020-0518,632
2020-0420,821
2020-0320,467
2020-0217,633
2020-0119,465
2019-1219,165
2019-1119,670
2019-1020,104
2019-0919,617
2019-0818,922
2019-0715,579
2019-0616,562
2019-0519,714
2019-0422,639
2019-0343,402
2019-0216,024
2019-0117,566
2018-1217,385
2018-1119,818
2018-1020,394
2018-0920,462
2018-0819,996
2018-0719,772
2018-0618,194
2018-0519,691
2018-0424,693
2018-0325,095
2018-0216,581
2018-0116,684
2017-1215,657
2017-1117,923
2017-1017,812
2017-0917,423
2017-0816,839
2017-0716,901
2017-0617,730
2017-0519,350
2017-0422,632
2017-0324,863
2017-0216,754
2017-0117,327
2016-1216,934
2016-1118,562
2016-1019,729
2016-0920,648
2016-0819,709
2016-0716,952
2016-0619,318
2016-0521,241
2016-0422,937
2016-0324,405
2016-0217,941
2016-0117,816
2015-1216,385
2015-1118,822
2015-1021,527
2015-0919,436
2015-0817,716
2015-0716,937

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • David MacMillan Chemistry 2021

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1363613452), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.