Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · San Diego, CA

San Diego State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $9,910 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $27,780.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $64,909 ten years after entering, the 85th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 76% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
40,745

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $27,780 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $9,910 and $23,821 a year depending on income at San Diego State University.

Statement of cost · San Diego State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$27,780
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$9,910
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$15,364
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$8,728

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $9,910; $30–48k: $10,017; $48–75k: $12,697; $75–110k: $15,891; over $110k: $23,821. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$9,910
$30k–$48k$10,017
$48k–$75k$12,697
$75k–$110k$15,891
Over $110k$23,821

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $64,909; the median graduate who borrowed owes $15,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$52,620
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$61,120
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
85th percentile among public 4-years
$64,909
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
30th percentile among public 4-years
$15,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$12,847

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $52,620; 8 yrs after entry: $61,120; 10 yrs after entry: $64,909. Median graduate debt: $15,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $15,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$52,620
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$61,120
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$64,909
Median graduate debt$15,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at San Diego State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree2,008$74,342$15,000
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree646$46,082$14,301
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree415$55,637$12,998
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree354$64,740$15,000
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree276$70,169$17,998
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree261$59,719$15,675
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree259$99,279$19,994
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree254$40,935$9,899
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree249$48,300not reported
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree244$47,974$15,862
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree227$58,202$12,496
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree206$114,373$16,499
Show all 27 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree203$108,004not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree197$77,568$15,250
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree195$109,894$18,875
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree169$70,987$17,068
SociologyBachelor's Degree169$50,363$12,500
Public HealthBachelor's Degree169not reported$13,812
JournalismBachelor's Degree167not reported$14,998
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree164not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree17not reportednot reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree39not reportednot reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree122not reported$16,248
Psychology, GeneralMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesMaster's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree101$100,171$18,165
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree25$117,624not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

San Diego State University: 35,377 undergraduates; 32% of students receive Pell grants; 36% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

36%

5th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

35,377

97th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

32%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

49th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

76%

finish within 150% of normal time

93rd percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

41%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$32,530

45th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k34%
  • $30k–$48k17%
  • $48k–$75k16%
  • $75k–$110k12%
  • Over $110k21%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k34%
$30k–$48k17%
$48k–$75k16%
$75k–$110k12%
Over $110k21%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.