Statement · Knoxville, TN
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →
Families earning under $30k paid $10,029 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $33,678.
Students who received federal aid earned a median $60,249 ten years after entering, the 74th percentile among public 4-years.
74% of students finish within 150% of normal time.
- Founded
- 1794
- Enrollment, 2023
- 36,950
- Website
- utk.edu

AboutPublic university in Knoxville, Tennessee, US. Wikipedia ↗
Read the Wikipedia extract
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville is a public land-grant research university in Knoxville, Tennessee, United States. Founded in 1794, two years before Tennessee became the 16th state, it is the flagship campus of the University of Tennessee system, with 14 colleges. It hosts more than 30,000 students from all 50 states and more than 100 foreign countries.
From the Wikipedia article “University of Tennessee”, revision 1364225101, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.
What it costs
The published sticker cost is $33,678 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,029 and $25,688 a year depending on income at The University of Tennessee-Knoxville.
Statement of cost · The University of Tennessee-Knoxville
- Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
- $33,678
- What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
- $10,029
- Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
- $18,976
- In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
- $13,812
Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.
Net price by family income
Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.
Yearly net price by family income, in dollars
- Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
| Family income | Paid per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | $10,029 |
| $30k–$48k | $12,162 |
| $48k–$75k | $18,206 |
| $75k–$110k | $23,627 |
| Over $110k | $25,688 |
College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)
What graduates earn and owe
Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $60,249; the median graduate who borrowed owes $20,500.
Statement, continued
- Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $47,782
- Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
- $54,188
- Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
74th percentile among public 4-years - $60,249
- Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
59th percentile among public 4-years - $20,500
- Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
- $16,000
Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.
Earnings after entry
The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.
- Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
- Dashed: median graduate debt, $20,500.
Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Measure | Dollars |
|---|---|
| Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry | $47,782 |
| Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry | $54,188 |
| Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry | $60,249 |
| Median graduate debt | $20,500 |
College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records
What programs pay
Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Bachelor's Degree | 595 | $79,000 | $20,500 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Master's Degree | 386 | $133,752 | not reported |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | Bachelor's Degree | 354 | not reported | not reported |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | Bachelor's Degree | 313 | $61,292 | $21,500 |
| Marketing | Bachelor's Degree | 302 | $62,427 | $19,500 |
| Social Work | Master's Degree | 268 | $53,501 | not reported |
| Biology, General | Bachelor's Degree | 248 | $58,414 | $23,579 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | Bachelor's Degree | 246 | $78,862 | $23,250 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Bachelor's Degree | 239 | $74,229 | $23,292 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | Bachelor's Degree | 181 | $88,397 | $25,000 |
| Political Science and Government | Bachelor's Degree | 149 | $55,196 | $20,500 |
| Mechanical Engineering | Bachelor's Degree | 143 | $90,860 | $23,250 |
Show all 29 programs
| Program | Credential | Graduates | Earnings, 5 yrs | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas | Master's Degree | 140 | $50,535 | not reported |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | Bachelor's Degree | 137 | not reported | $18,500 |
| Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication | Bachelor's Degree | 134 | $62,859 | $21,368 |
| Communication and Media Studies | Bachelor's Degree | 130 | $57,807 | $20,875 |
| Accounting and Related Services | Bachelor's Degree | 126 | $85,054 | $22,000 |
| Social Work | Graduate/Professional Certificate | 119 | $50,412 | not reported |
| Computer Science | Bachelor's Degree | 113 | $101,926 | $16,750 |
| Law | First Professional Degree | 112 | $96,435 | not reported |
| Industrial Engineering | Master's Degree | 36 | not reported | not reported |
| Computer Science | Master's Degree | 22 | not reported | not reported |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | Master's Degree | 0 | $149,644 | not reported |
| Veterinary Medicine | First Professional Degree | 79 | $111,314 | not reported |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | Master's Degree | not reported | $108,396 | not reported |
| Chemistry | Doctoral Degree | 24 | not reported | not reported |
| Engineering, Other | Doctoral Degree | 6 | not reported | not reported |
| Mechanical Engineering | Master's Degree | 23 | $116,277 | not reported |
| Accounting and Related Services | Master's Degree | 78 | $97,661 | not reported |
Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.
Who goes here
The University of Tennessee-Knoxville: 30,418 undergraduates; 19% of students receive Pell grants; 42% of applicants are admitted.
Admission rate
42%
6th percentile among public 4-years
Undergraduates
30,418
94th percentile among public 4-years
Pell share
19%
of undergraduates receive Pell grants
14th percentile among public 4-years
Completion
74%
finish within 150% of normal time
91st percentile among public 4-years
First-generation
25%
parents did not attend college
Median family income
$54,206
79th percentile among public 4-years
Students by family income
Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.
- Under $30k24%
- $30k–$48k15%
- $48k–$75k16%
- $75k–$110k17%
- Over $110k28%
Show as a table
| Family income | Share of students |
|---|---|
| Under $30k | 24% |
| $30k–$48k | 15% |
| $48k–$75k | 16% |
| $75k–$110k | 17% |
| Over $110k | 28% |
How it has changed
Average net price rose from $12,948 in 2009 to $18,976 in 2024.
Four measures, year by year
A break in a line is a year the measure was not collected. It is not zero.
Admission rate
Price per year
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry
7 years not reported; the line breaks there
Undergraduates
1 year not reported; the line breaks there
Table of the same numbers
| Year | Admit rate | Sticker price | Net price | Earnings, 10 yrs | Undergrads |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1996 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 18,725 |
| 1997 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 18,517 |
| 1998 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 18,985 |
| 1999 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | 19,830 |
| 2000 | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported | not reported |
| 2001 | 69% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 19,797 |
| 2002 | 88% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 19,580 |
| 2003 | 71% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 18,906 |
| 2004 | 44% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 19,313 |
| 2005 | 44% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 19,931 |
| 2006 | 74% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 20,298 |
| 2007 | 71% | not reported | not reported | $44,300 | 21,001 |
| 2008 | 71% | not reported | not reported | not reported | 21,378 |
| 2009 | 73% | $19,618 | $12,948 | $42,600 | 20,849 |
| 2010 | 74% | $20,780 | $12,999 | not reported | 21,141 |
| 2011 | 70% | $22,061 | $11,908 | $42,300 | 20,963 |
| 2012 | 67% | $23,571 | $13,623 | $42,300 | 20,699 |
| 2013 | 72% | $24,746 | $14,162 | $43,400 | 20,948 |
| 2014 | 75% | $27,450 | $15,949 | $45,100 | 21,396 |
| 2015 | 76% | $29,420 | $18,138 | not reported | 21,661 |
| 2016 | 77% | $29,626 | $19,076 | not reported | 21,984 |
| 2017 | 77% | $30,226 | $19,335 | not reported | 22,151 |
| 2018 | 78% | $30,930 | $19,142 | not reported | 22,653 |
| 2019 | 79% | $31,510 | $18,825 | not reported | 23,152 |
| 2020 | 78% | $32,010 | $18,579 | $60,249 | 24,146 |
| 2021 | 75% | $32,498 | $18,853 | not reported | 24,957 |
| 2022 | 68% | $32,658 | $19,400 | not reported | 26,905 |
| 2023 | 46% | $32,658 | $18,109 | not reported | 28,763 |
| 2024 | 42% | $33,678 | $18,976 | not reported | 30,418 |
College Scorecard annual institution files, 1996 to 2026
Who Wikipedia remembers
Wikidata records 2,385 people who studied at The University of Tennessee-Knoxville, most often in sports (45%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.
What the recorded alumni are remembered for
Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.
Table of the same numbers
| Field | People recorded | Share |
|---|---|---|
| science & academia | 518 | 24.1% |
| medicine | 30 | 1.4% |
| law | 98 | 4.5% |
| politics & gov | 180 | 8.4% |
| business | 56 | 2.6% |
| engineering & tech | 57 | 2.6% |
| writing & journalism | 97 | 4.5% |
| film & stage | 40 | 1.9% |
| music | 33 | 1.5% |
| visual arts | 36 | 1.7% |
| sports | 970 | 45.1% |
| religion | 4 | 0.2% |
| military | 34 | 1.6% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
most recorded occupationsbasketball player (520) · American football player (280) · researcher (222) · politician (172) · university teacher (138) · lawyer (90) · writer (56) · baseball player (52)
Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade
Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.
Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.
Table of the same numbers
| Born | Women | Men | Share women |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1770s | not reported | 2 | not reported |
| 1780s | not reported | 1 | not reported |
| 1790s | not reported | 1 | not reported |
| 1810s | not reported | 9 | not reported |
| 1820s | not reported | 11 | not reported |
| 1830s | not reported | 3 | not reported |
| 1840s | not reported | 4 | not reported |
| 1850s | not reported | 9 | not reported |
| 1860s | not reported | 12 | not reported |
| 1870s | 2 | 11 | 15% |
| 1880s | not reported | 15 | not reported |
| 1890s | 1 | 26 | 4% |
| 1900s | 4 | 23 | 15% |
| 1910s | 4 | 51 | 7% |
| 1920s | 7 | 61 | 10% |
| 1930s | 12 | 96 | 11% |
| 1940s | 21 | 142 | 13% |
| 1950s | 44 | 115 | 28% |
| 1960s | 23 | 90 | 20% |
| 1970s | 27 | 99 | 21% |
| 1980s | 43 | 106 | 29% |
| 1990s | 40 | 99 | 29% |
| 2000s | 18 | 55 | 25% |
Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).
Wikipedia attention, by month
Wikipedia attention
monthly views
Table of the same numbers
| Month | Views |
|---|---|
| 2026-06 | 9,964 |
| 2026-05 | 12,067 |
| 2026-04 | 11,274 |
| 2026-03 | 13,248 |
| 2026-02 | 9,471 |
| 2026-01 | 11,181 |
| 2025-12 | 12,901 |
| 2025-11 | 15,450 |
| 2025-10 | 15,167 |
| 2025-09 | 19,719 |
| 2025-08 | 16,649 |
| 2025-07 | 12,232 |
| 2025-06 | 11,083 |
| 2025-05 | 12,253 |
| 2025-04 | 13,274 |
| 2025-03 | 20,168 |
| 2025-02 | 12,374 |
| 2025-01 | 15,290 |
| 2024-12 | 19,482 |
| 2024-11 | 17,821 |
| 2024-10 | 22,897 |
| 2024-09 | 21,490 |
| 2024-08 | 16,669 |
| 2024-07 | 16,412 |
| 2024-06 | 16,269 |
| 2024-05 | 15,267 |
| 2024-04 | 15,539 |
| 2024-03 | 20,533 |
| 2024-02 | 14,038 |
| 2024-01 | 17,577 |
| 2023-12 | 14,655 |
| 2023-11 | 18,012 |
| 2023-10 | 17,972 |
| 2023-09 | 20,139 |
| 2023-08 | 17,428 |
| 2023-07 | 16,028 |
| 2023-06 | 15,423 |
| 2023-05 | 14,558 |
| 2023-04 | 15,448 |
| 2023-03 | 20,478 |
| 2023-02 | 14,551 |
| 2023-01 | 16,739 |
| 2022-12 | 18,010 |
| 2022-11 | 21,781 |
| 2022-10 | 39,407 |
| 2022-09 | 21,700 |
| 2022-08 | 15,483 |
| 2022-07 | 13,019 |
| 2022-06 | 13,577 |
| 2022-05 | 13,518 |
| 2022-04 | 15,209 |
| 2022-03 | 17,341 |
| 2022-02 | 13,163 |
| 2022-01 | 14,415 |
| 2021-12 | 14,965 |
| 2021-11 | 15,317 |
| 2021-10 | 18,384 |
| 2021-09 | 17,134 |
| 2021-08 | 14,409 |
| 2021-07 | 14,255 |
| 2021-06 | 12,562 |
| 2021-05 | 12,393 |
| 2021-04 | 15,490 |
| 2021-03 | 13,979 |
| 2021-02 | 11,679 |
| 2021-01 | 14,411 |
| 2020-12 | 14,440 |
| 2020-11 | 11,903 |
| 2020-10 | 14,803 |
| 2020-09 | 12,361 |
| 2020-08 | 12,531 |
| 2020-07 | 11,700 |
| 2020-06 | 13,457 |
| 2020-05 | 15,915 |
| 2020-04 | 16,385 |
| 2020-03 | 15,593 |
| 2020-02 | 17,511 |
| 2020-01 | 22,262 |
| 2019-12 | 19,953 |
| 2019-11 | 20,906 |
| 2019-10 | 25,873 |
| 2019-09 | 31,324 |
| 2019-08 | 19,755 |
| 2019-07 | 16,236 |
| 2019-06 | 14,569 |
| 2019-05 | 15,246 |
| 2019-04 | 17,270 |
| 2019-03 | 26,336 |
| 2019-02 | 16,737 |
| 2019-01 | 22,616 |
| 2018-12 | 20,734 |
| 2018-11 | 23,337 |
| 2018-10 | 24,665 |
| 2018-09 | 24,735 |
| 2018-08 | 21,660 |
| 2018-07 | 17,526 |
| 2018-06 | 15,760 |
| 2018-05 | 18,232 |
| 2018-04 | 17,761 |
| 2018-03 | 22,930 |
| 2018-02 | 15,010 |
| 2018-01 | 16,756 |
| 2017-12 | 18,556 |
| 2017-11 | 23,549 |
| 2017-10 | 21,326 |
| 2017-09 | 23,064 |
| 2017-08 | 17,725 |
| 2017-07 | 14,134 |
| 2017-06 | 13,124 |
| 2017-05 | 15,526 |
| 2017-04 | 16,219 |
| 2017-03 | 18,331 |
| 2017-02 | 14,426 |
| 2017-01 | 16,766 |
| 2016-12 | 16,441 |
| 2016-11 | 18,821 |
| 2016-10 | 24,320 |
| 2016-09 | 29,630 |
| 2016-08 | 16,595 |
| 2016-07 | 13,433 |
| 2016-06 | 13,836 |
| 2016-05 | 13,676 |
| 2016-04 | 14,480 |
| 2016-03 | 16,113 |
| 2016-02 | 17,976 |
| 2016-01 | 17,458 |
| 2015-12 | 14,399 |
| 2015-11 | 16,705 |
| 2015-10 | 19,639 |
| 2015-09 | 21,399 |
| 2015-08 | 15,516 |
| 2015-07 | 13,903 |
Source: Wikimedia pageviews.
Nobel laureates who studied here
- James M. Buchanan Economics 1986
The portrait wall
Ordered by Wikipedia footprint (language editions).
- Kurt Vonnegut
Bernard Gotfryd / Adam Cuerden · Public domain
- Dixie Carter
CBS Television · Public domain
Show all 14 portraits
- Scott Kelly
NASA, Johnson Space Center, Bill Ingalls · Public domain
Also recorded: Frank Knight.
Similar schools
These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.
Sources & caveats
Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.
- not reported
- Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
- Percentiles
- A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
- Earnings
- Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
- U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
- Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
- Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
- Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
- Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.
Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1364225101), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.