Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Athens, GA

University of Georgia

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $8,085 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $27,993.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $68,726 ten years after entering, the 88th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 90% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1785
Enrollment, 2023
44,713
Website
uga.edu
Campus of University of Georgia

Pruddle at English Wikipedia · CC BY 2.5

AboutPublic university in Athens, Georgia, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Georgia is a public land-grant research university with its main campus in Athens, Georgia, United States. Chartered in 1785, it is the first state-chartered public university in the United States. It is the flagship school of the University System of Georgia.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Georgia”, revision 1363322321, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $27,993 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $8,085 and $18,079 a year depending on income at University of Georgia.

Statement of cost · University of Georgia

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$27,993
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$8,085
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$13,936
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$11,450

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $8,085; $30–48k: $8,686; $48–75k: $13,096; $75–110k: $16,942; over $110k: $18,079. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$8,085
$30k–$48k$8,686
$48k–$75k$13,096
$75k–$110k$16,942
Over $110k$18,079

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $68,726; the median graduate who borrowed owes $18,500.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$57,565
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$63,005
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
88th percentile among public 4-years
$68,726
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
40th percentile among public 4-years
$18,500
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$16,666

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $57,565; 8 yrs after entry: $63,005; 10 yrs after entry: $68,726. Median graduate debt: $18,500. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $18,500.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$57,565
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$63,005
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$68,726
Median graduate debt$18,500

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Georgia
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree591$58,364$21,552
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree573$64,387$23,096
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree545$95,338$20,299
MarketingBachelor's Degree398$82,677$20,000
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree369$111,592$19,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree311$156,018not reported
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree298$73,502$21,787
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree266$66,357$22,171
InsuranceBachelor's Degree252$89,304$22,394
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree247$100,784$22,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree243$75,756$19,500
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree239$66,397$22,250
Show all 28 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
International Relations and National Security StudiesBachelor's Degree221$67,971$19,500
Social WorkMaster's Degree198$57,218not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree179not reported$22,814
LawFirst Professional Degree178$108,190not reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree178$90,785$22,419
Public HealthBachelor's Degree169$68,297$21,500
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree163$103,935not reported
Real EstateBachelor's Degree162$87,821$24,027
Veterinary Biomedical and Clinical SciencesMaster's Degree9not reportednot reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationMaster's Degree16$129,370not reported
Veterinary MedicineFirst Professional Degree116$122,677not reported
Housing and Human EnvironmentsMaster's Degree56not reportednot reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree136$136,525not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree34$102,892not reported
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Psychology, GeneralDoctoral Degree0not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Georgia: 32,137 undergraduates; 17% of students receive Pell grants; 38% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

38%

5th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

32,137

95th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

17%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

9th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

90%

finish within 150% of normal time

99th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

18%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$64,179

87th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k21%
  • $30k–$48k14%
  • $48k–$75k16%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k21%
$30k–$48k14%
$48k–$75k16%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 3,989 people who studied at University of Georgia, most often in science & academia (43%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 43% (1,616 people); medicine 1.1% (40 people); law 5.3% (200 people); politics & gov 8.2% (309 people); business 1.8% (68 people); engineering & tech 0.5% (20 people); writing & journalism 3.9% (148 people); film & stage 2.1% (81 people); music 2.0% (74 people); visual arts 1.8% (68 people); sports 29% (1,095 people); religion 0.3% (10 people); military 1.2% (46 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia1,61642.8%
medicine401.1%
law2005.3%
politics & gov3098.2%
business681.8%
engineering & tech200.5%
writing & journalism1483.9%
film & stage812.1%
music742.0%
visual arts681.8%
sports1,09529.0%
religion100.3%
military461.2%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,192) · basketball player (553) · American football player (332) · politician (297) · university teacher (250) · lawyer (189) · writer (83) · judge (80)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 5% for the 1860s to 24% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 9 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1780snot reported3not reported
1790snot reported3not reported
1800snot reported13not reported
1810snot reported26not reported
1820snot reported13not reported
1830snot reported16not reported
1840snot reported15not reported
1850snot reported21not reported
1860s1185%
1870s2277%
1880snot reported22not reported
1890s1402%
1900s94716%
1910s4458%
1920s158715%
1930s119011%
1940s2513116%
1950s4512127%
1960s5014526%
1970s5711833%
1980s5713230%
1990s5212130%
2000s289124%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 60,308 in 2023-01.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0613,170
2026-0515,689
2026-0415,796
2026-0316,222
2026-0216,812
2026-0127,836
2025-1221,969
2025-1126,848
2025-1022,999
2025-0925,829
2025-0821,238
2025-0716,769
2025-0615,737
2025-0519,656
2025-0420,586
2025-0323,306
2025-0218,420
2025-0129,895
2024-1228,614
2024-1139,440
2024-1028,183
2024-0929,757
2024-0827,296
2024-0720,909
2024-0619,688
2024-0524,772
2024-0423,134
2024-0326,955
2024-0225,760
2024-0128,385
2023-1229,023
2023-1131,571
2023-1028,391
2023-0933,325
2023-0829,083
2023-0735,334
2023-0623,783
2023-0526,184
2023-0426,938
2023-0330,244
2023-0225,784
2023-0160,308
2022-1230,492
2022-1138,434
2022-1035,511
2022-0932,076
2022-0828,373
2022-0723,423
2022-0621,757
2022-0524,942
2022-0426,774
2022-0325,857
2022-0224,756
2022-0152,603
2021-1227,682
2021-1127,358
2021-1031,592
2021-0930,117
2021-0827,999
2021-0724,925
2021-0619,796
2021-0524,901
2021-0423,007
2021-0324,406
2021-0225,022
2021-0132,247
2020-1222,206
2020-1128,129
2020-1025,584
2020-0919,862
2020-0819,907
2020-0717,824
2020-0617,281
2020-0521,577
2020-0428,546
2020-0323,146
2020-0222,843
2020-0134,287
2019-1231,359
2019-1133,847
2019-1033,570
2019-0938,522
2019-0826,172
2019-0721,134
2019-0621,182
2019-0523,018
2019-0424,232
2019-0326,445
2019-0222,355
2019-0131,981
2018-1230,604
2018-1132,841
2018-1033,845
2018-0932,641
2018-0830,574
2018-0725,491
2018-0623,249
2018-0529,607
2018-0427,400
2018-0325,575
2018-0219,007
2018-0159,770
2017-1228,281
2017-1129,437
2017-1027,675
2017-0927,495
2017-0822,612
2017-0719,710
2017-0619,018
2017-0523,939
2017-0420,905
2017-0322,233
2017-0219,493
2017-0125,783
2016-1221,290
2016-1123,475
2016-1024,653
2016-0927,125
2016-0822,928
2016-0717,705
2016-0617,460
2016-0521,449
2016-0421,197
2016-0321,073
2016-0218,698
2016-0125,797
2015-1221,225
2015-1124,879
2015-1026,121
2015-0928,208
2015-0821,423
2015-0719,319

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1363322321), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.