Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · College Park, MD

University of Maryland-College Park

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $2,962 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $29,299.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $82,860 ten years after entering, the 97th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 89% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1856
Enrollment, 2023
44,086
Website
umd.edu
Campus of University of Maryland-College Park

Bgervais · CC BY-SA 3.0

AboutPublic university in College Park, Maryland, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Maryland, College Park is a public land-grant research university in College Park, Maryland, United States, near Washington, D.C. Founded in 1856, UMD is the flagship institution of the University System of Maryland.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Maryland, College Park”, revision 1362932011, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $29,299 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $2,962 and $26,691 a year depending on income at University of Maryland-College Park.

Statement of cost · University of Maryland-College Park

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$29,299
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$2,962
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$15,678
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$11,809

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $2,962; $30–48k: $6,051; $48–75k: $10,273; $75–110k: $18,250; over $110k: $26,691. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$2,962
$30k–$48k$6,051
$48k–$75k$10,273
$75k–$110k$18,250
Over $110k$26,691

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $82,860; the median graduate who borrowed owes $19,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$67,785
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$75,472
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
97th percentile among public 4-years
$82,860
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
44th percentile among public 4-years
$19,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$17,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $67,785; 8 yrs after entry: $75,472; 10 yrs after entry: $82,860. Median graduate debt: $19,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $19,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$67,785
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$75,472
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$82,860
Median graduate debt$19,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Maryland-College Park
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree873not reported$20,000
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree661$113,785$20,180
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree490$72,024$19,000
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree478$63,220$20,500
Public HealthBachelor's Degree416$67,437$23,424
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree415$116,598$19,500
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree406not reportednot reported
CriminologyBachelor's Degree362$69,545$19,500
Engineering, GeneralMaster's Degree357$134,125not reported
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree327$102,581$20,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree327$153,609not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree321$79,622$18,768
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
EconomicsBachelor's Degree320$86,897$20,097
MarketingBachelor's Degree278$91,119$21,038
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree276$102,325$20,500
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree247$75,778$20,000
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherMaster's Degree193$102,991not reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree191$101,607$19,500
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree189$73,118$23,138
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree181$99,454$15,000
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree104not reported$20,695
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree0$144,240not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree30$130,079not reported
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsBachelor's Degree121$110,163$15,000

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Maryland-College Park: 30,760 undergraduates; 19% of students receive Pell grants; 45% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

45%

8th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

30,760

95th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

19%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

15th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

89%

finish within 150% of normal time

98th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

22%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$67,353

90th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k20%
  • $30k–$48k12%
  • $48k–$75k15%
  • $75k–$110k14%
  • Over $110k39%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k20%
$30k–$48k12%
$48k–$75k15%
$75k–$110k14%
Over $110k39%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 5,425 people who studied at University of Maryland-College Park, most often in science & academia (50%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 50% (1,971 people); medicine 0.9% (36 people); law 1.1% (41 people); politics & gov 3.8% (150 people); business 2.3% (91 people); engineering & tech 5.9% (231 people); writing & journalism 5.9% (230 people); film & stage 2.3% (88 people); music 1.3% (50 people); visual arts 1.7% (68 people); sports 23% (879 people); religion 0.2% (8 people); military 1.6% (62 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia1,97150.5%
medicine360.9%
law411.1%
politics & gov1503.8%
business912.3%
engineering & tech2315.9%
writing & journalism2305.9%
film & stage882.3%
music501.3%
visual arts681.7%
sports87922.5%
religion80.2%
military621.6%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,217) · basketball player (499) · university teacher (386) · American football player (174) · mathematician (133) · computer scientist (132) · politician (117) · writer (108)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 10% for the 1890s to 30% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 11 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1760snot reported1not reported
1780snot reported1not reported
1790snot reported1not reported
1800snot reported1not reported
1810snot reported3not reported
1820snot reported1not reported
1840snot reported2not reported
1850snot reported5not reported
1860snot reported7not reported
1870snot reported10not reported
1880snot reported20not reported
1890s21810%
1900s73218%
1910s84615%
1920s179016%
1930s3212920%
1940s4915824%
1950s5116723%
1960s4614025%
1970s5812831%
1980s4113723%
1990s4410829%
2000s173930%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 44,277 in 2018-11.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0617,729
2026-0517,119
2026-0420,530
2026-0318,633
2026-0215,447
2026-0116,837
2025-1218,889
2025-1119,244
2025-1019,185
2025-0920,327
2025-0819,864
2025-0716,225
2025-0617,486
2025-0520,976
2025-0422,403
2025-0329,191
2025-0219,993
2025-0122,603
2024-1222,064
2024-1132,245
2024-1024,116
2024-0925,392
2024-0824,040
2024-0720,907
2024-0619,037
2024-0523,506
2024-0426,239
2024-0330,496
2024-0227,639
2024-0132,765
2023-1226,145
2023-1128,447
2023-1031,706
2023-0930,436
2023-0832,349
2023-0727,239
2023-0628,361
2023-0527,014
2023-0429,911
2023-0334,064
2023-0226,877
2023-0130,828
2022-1225,976
2022-1131,815
2022-1032,909
2022-0928,730
2022-0830,067
2022-0728,122
2022-0624,471
2022-0526,850
2022-0429,049
2022-0329,236
2022-0226,384
2022-0131,076
2021-1226,978
2021-1128,115
2021-1030,524
2021-0930,765
2021-0829,845
2021-0729,080
2021-0620,574
2021-0525,344
2021-0429,509
2021-0329,598
2021-0222,834
2021-0128,046
2020-1226,222
2020-1125,843
2020-1025,558
2020-0921,372
2020-0822,595
2020-0721,879
2020-0627,031
2020-0534,410
2020-0433,400
2020-0332,254
2020-0234,419
2020-0133,829
2019-1235,098
2019-1136,447
2019-1037,888
2019-0936,891
2019-0832,266
2019-0731,363
2019-0627,504
2019-0532,487
2019-0434,816
2019-0341,140
2019-0231,514
2019-0139,128
2018-1236,675
2018-1144,277
2018-1039,264
2018-0937,067
2018-0839,306
2018-0731,851
2018-0627,480
2018-0530,369
2018-0432,788
2018-0338,763
2018-0226,424
2018-0128,740
2017-1224,812
2017-1129,818
2017-1030,813
2017-0928,874
2017-0827,328
2017-0725,518
2017-0623,863
2017-0532,479
2017-0429,652
2017-0333,541
2017-0227,529
2017-0128,211
2016-1226,788
2016-1129,074
2016-1030,031
2016-0926,746
2016-0824,871
2016-0722,139
2016-0622,634
2016-0526,349
2016-0428,963
2016-0334,015
2016-0228,639
2016-0128,236
2015-1224,752
2015-1127,560
2015-1030,233
2015-0927,961
2015-0826,820
2015-0724,079

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Herbert A. Hauptman Chemistry 1985

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1362932011), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.