Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Seattle, WA

University of Washington-Seattle Campus

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $6,384 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $32,446.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $78,466 ten years after entering, the 96th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 85% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1861
Enrollment, 2023
57,633
Motto
“Lux sit”
Campus of University of Washington-Seattle Campus

Martin Kraft · CC BY-SA 3.0

AboutPublic university in Seattle, Washington, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Washington is a public research university in Seattle, Washington, United States. Founded in 1861, it is one of the oldest universities on the West Coast.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Washington”, revision 1359910597, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $32,446 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $6,384 and $30,019 a year depending on income at University of Washington-Seattle Campus.

Statement of cost · University of Washington-Seattle Campus

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$32,446
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$6,384
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$14,091
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$12,973

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $6,384; $30–48k: $7,039; $48–75k: $8,110; $75–110k: $14,328; over $110k: $30,019. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$6,384
$30k–$48k$7,039
$48k–$75k$8,110
$75k–$110k$14,328
Over $110k$30,019

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $78,466; the median graduate who borrowed owes $14,615.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$62,979
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$70,968
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
96th percentile among public 4-years
$78,466
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
28th percentile among public 4-years
$14,615
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$12,375

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $62,979; 8 yrs after entry: $70,968; 10 yrs after entry: $78,466. Median graduate debt: $14,615. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $14,615.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$62,979
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$70,968
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$78,466
Median graduate debt$14,615

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Washington-Seattle Campus
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree622$121,341$16,277
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree496not reported$15,754
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree495$162,117$16,118
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree389$68,104$14,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree385$177,513not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree325$202,642not reported
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree304$106,265$14,208
Public HealthBachelor's Degree297$65,780$16,490
EconomicsBachelor's Degree287$92,399$14,166
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree281$68,260$16,433
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular BiologyBachelor's Degree280$72,792$14,814
Information Science/StudiesMaster's Degree272$178,595not reported
Show all 27 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
MedicineFirst Professional Degree266$200,146not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree227$108,406$15,000
MarketingBachelor's Degree224$81,356$15,171
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree220$57,124$17,184
SociologyBachelor's Degree219$67,391$19,286
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree212not reportednot reported
MathematicsBachelor's Degree209$96,036$15,501
Public AdministrationMaster's Degree206$89,838not reported
Advanced/Graduate Dentistry and Oral SciencesMaster's Degree23$230,424not reported
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyMaster's Degree58$184,327not reported
DentistryFirst Professional Degree67$159,958not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree4$119,486not reported
Human Computer InteractionMaster's Degree41not reportednot reported
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree40$223,690$16,127
Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree36not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Washington-Seattle Campus: 31,942 undergraduates; 15% of students receive Pell grants; 39% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

39%

6th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

31,942

95th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

15%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

6th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

85%

finish within 150% of normal time

97th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

33%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$39,205

60th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k29%
  • $30k–$48k18%
  • $48k–$75k18%
  • $75k–$110k13%
  • Over $110k23%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k29%
$30k–$48k18%
$48k–$75k18%
$75k–$110k13%
Over $110k23%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 16,933 people who studied at University of Washington-Seattle Campus, most often in science & academia (55%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 55% (5,637 people); medicine 1.6% (158 people); law 0.9% (96 people); politics & gov 2.7% (278 people); business 1.7% (170 people); engineering & tech 14% (1,404 people); writing & journalism 5.4% (552 people); film & stage 1.5% (153 people); music 4.5% (462 people); visual arts 2.7% (273 people); sports 9.2% (943 people); religion 0.2% (17 people); military 0.8% (80 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia5,63755.1%
medicine1581.6%
law960.9%
politics & gov2782.7%
business1701.7%
engineering & tech1,40413.7%
writing & journalism5525.4%
film & stage1531.5%
music4624.5%
visual arts2732.7%
sports9439.2%
religion170.2%
military800.8%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (3,054) · university teacher (1,230) · computer scientist (622) · basketball player (543) · academic (419) · civil engineer (329) · writer (303) · chemical engineer (296)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 20% for the 1860s to 23% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 1 decade is marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1850s1not reportednot reported
1860s1420%
1870s6650%
1880s92725%
1890s216724%
1900s3010822%
1910s4215821%
1920s5624119%
1930s5524818%
1940s11932627%
1950s13834928%
1960s14424237%
1970s13420839%
1980s9818535%
1990s8014036%
2000s217123%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 107,373 in 2024-01.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0624,183
2026-0525,190
2026-0425,693
2026-0326,272
2026-0223,012
2026-0126,150
2025-1226,174
2025-1131,678
2025-1034,604
2025-0936,630
2025-0831,596
2025-0727,387
2025-0628,156
2025-0532,294
2025-0431,178
2025-0347,557
2025-0232,521
2025-0136,745
2024-1235,748
2024-1135,290
2024-1041,132
2024-0942,249
2024-0836,080
2024-0731,847
2024-0632,826
2024-0536,549
2024-0440,014
2024-0344,648
2024-0237,434
2024-01107,373
2023-1255,033
2023-1148,719
2023-1052,211
2023-0943,585
2023-0844,649
2023-0739,577
2023-0636,577
2023-0536,586
2023-0438,151
2023-0341,804
2023-0232,298
2023-0139,449
2022-1238,278
2022-1142,155
2022-1037,814
2022-0943,515
2022-0835,876
2022-0734,814
2022-0632,834
2022-0532,947
2022-0435,085
2022-0338,306
2022-0231,280
2022-0135,139
2021-1234,251
2021-1142,567
2021-1043,939
2021-0944,771
2021-0840,663
2021-0741,126
2021-0631,267
2021-0531,541
2021-0438,242
2021-0342,530
2021-0228,229
2021-0135,509
2020-1234,579
2020-1142,217
2020-1032,969
2020-0929,993
2020-0828,698
2020-0730,111
2020-0632,043
2020-0539,564
2020-0449,699
2020-0344,882
2020-0238,970
2020-0143,770
2019-1245,391
2019-1151,691
2019-1052,312
2019-0948,013
2019-0840,841
2019-0745,935
2019-0640,004
2019-0545,240
2019-0441,910
2019-0349,646
2019-0238,990
2019-0151,247
2018-1242,228
2018-1155,174
2018-1055,875
2018-0953,828
2018-0847,281
2018-0743,225
2018-0646,745
2018-0544,317
2018-0445,356
2018-0354,908
2018-0239,076
2018-0142,859
2017-1241,802
2017-1148,149
2017-1048,831
2017-0945,732
2017-0842,519
2017-0737,955
2017-0640,069
2017-0542,993
2017-0445,483
2017-0352,921
2017-0240,430
2017-0147,070
2016-1258,720
2016-1160,581
2016-1069,824
2016-0949,449
2016-0843,396
2016-0734,067
2016-0636,116
2016-0538,742
2016-0439,798
2016-0343,337
2016-0234,984
2016-0140,189
2015-1235,319
2015-1141,395
2015-1043,890
2015-0939,289
2015-0838,068
2015-0736,339

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Earl Wilbur Sutherland, Jr. Medicine 1971
  • George Stigler Economics 1982
  • George H. Hitchings Medicine 1988
  • Martin Rodbell Medicine 1994
  • Robert Mundell Economics 1999
  • Linda B. Buck Medicine 2004
Show all 8
  • Jeffrey C. Hall Medicine 2017
  • Mary E. Brunkow Medicine 2025

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1359910597), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.