Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Eugene, OR

University of Oregon

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $15,909 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $34,793.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $61,324 ten years after entering, the 76th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 72% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1876
Enrollment, 2023
25,054
Campus of University of Oregon

No machine-readable author provided. Adam850~commonswiki assumed (based on co… · Public domain

AboutPublic university in Eugene, Oregon, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Oregon is a public research university in Eugene, Oregon, United States. Founded in 1876, the university is organized into nine colleges and schools and offers 420 undergraduate and graduate degree programs. The university also operates the Ballmer Institute for Children's Behavioral Health in Portland, Oregon; the Oregon Institute of Marine Biology in Charleston, Oregon; and Pine Mountain Observatory in Central Oregon.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Oregon”, revision 1361523490, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $34,793 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $15,760 and $31,021 a year depending on income at University of Oregon.

Statement of cost · University of Oregon

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$34,793
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$15,909
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$22,182
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$16,137

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $15,909; $30–48k: $15,760; $48–75k: $18,364; $75–110k: $24,704; over $110k: $31,021. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$15,909
$30k–$48k$15,760
$48k–$75k$18,364
$75k–$110k$24,704
Over $110k$31,021

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $61,324; the median graduate who borrowed owes $20,139.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$46,084
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$53,823
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
76th percentile among public 4-years
$61,324
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
56th percentile among public 4-years
$20,139
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $46,084; 8 yrs after entry: $53,823; 10 yrs after entry: $61,324. Median graduate debt: $20,139. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $20,139.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$46,084
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$53,823
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$61,324
Median graduate debt$20,139

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Oregon
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree570$79,314$21,500
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree430$71,111$21,500
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree361not reportednot reported
Social Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree227$63,907$22,917
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesBachelor's Degree212$68,297$22,990
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree197$117,409not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree193$69,621$20,183
LawFirst Professional Degree153$95,796not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsGraduate/Professional Certificate151not reportednot reported
JournalismBachelor's Degree136$54,179$24,750
Fine and Studio ArtsBachelor's Degree135$30,736$24,000
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree134$47,594$20,500
Show all 28 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
EconomicsBachelor's Degree120$77,115$19,305
Human Services, GeneralBachelor's Degree109$51,422$21,417
SociologyBachelor's Degree100$53,713$23,592
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree98$59,129$25,400
Biological and Physical SciencesBachelor's Degree97$72,762$22,917
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree92$58,400not reported
Education, GeneralBachelor's Degree88$54,130$20,096
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree85$35,905$24,500
Management Information Systems and ServicesMaster's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported
PhysicsMaster's Degree10$107,276not reported
Engineering PhysicsMaster's Degree31not reportednot reported
ChemistryDoctoral Degree16$112,673not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree74$114,332$24,764
Biology, GeneralMaster's Degree5not reportednot reported
Clinical, Counseling and Applied PsychologyDoctoral Degree15not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree31$97,506not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Oregon: 20,497 undergraduates; 21% of students receive Pell grants; 88% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

88%

63rd percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

20,497

88th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

21%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

20th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

72%

finish within 150% of normal time

90th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

28%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$51,607

77th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k24%
  • $30k–$48k15%
  • $48k–$75k18%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k24%
$30k–$48k15%
$48k–$75k18%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 3,358 people who studied at University of Oregon, most often in science & academia (39%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 39% (1,194 people); medicine 1.3% (39 people); law 2.6% (80 people); politics & gov 6.2% (189 people); business 2.1% (62 people); engineering & tech 1.8% (53 people); writing & journalism 8.9% (271 people); film & stage 2.6% (80 people); music 2.0% (61 people); visual arts 3.7% (112 people); sports 28% (852 people); religion 0.3% (9 people); military 0.8% (25 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia1,19439.4%
medicine391.3%
law802.6%
politics & gov1896.2%
business622.1%
engineering & tech531.8%
writing & journalism2718.9%
film & stage802.6%
music612.0%
visual arts1123.7%
sports85228.1%
religion90.3%
military250.8%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (611) · basketball player (543) · university teacher (341) · American football player (192) · politician (174) · writer (131) · lawyer (75) · athletics competitor (69)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 13% for the 1860s to 34% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 2 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1840snot reported1not reported
1850snot reported4not reported
1860s1713%
1870s31121%
1880s91538%
1890s114022%
1900s224831%
1910s96512%
1920s2311517%
1930s1714111%
1940s4920319%
1950s5614628%
1960s4010827%
1970s227523%
1980s367832%
1990s3810626%
2000s295734%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 27,940 in 2017-03.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-069,952
2026-0510,432
2026-0410,139
2026-039,848
2026-029,767
2026-0120,113
2025-1216,493
2025-1115,102
2025-1016,587
2025-0917,711
2025-0812,912
2025-0710,397
2025-0610,614
2025-0511,591
2025-0412,656
2025-0317,917
2025-0211,576
2025-0119,789
2024-1222,177
2024-1119,378
2024-1025,946
2024-0920,644
2024-0818,474
2024-0716,294
2024-0612,755
2024-0512,948
2024-0413,599
2024-0317,059
2024-0213,202
2024-0118,040
2023-1217,313
2023-1121,535
2023-1019,583
2023-0926,435
2023-0822,687
2023-0716,113
2023-0614,924
2023-0515,297
2023-0414,700
2023-0316,812
2023-0213,374
2023-0115,238
2022-1215,171
2022-1120,995
2022-1019,148
2022-0918,877
2022-0816,542
2022-0721,426
2022-0613,637
2022-0513,772
2022-0415,352
2022-0315,355
2022-0212,851
2022-0114,810
2021-1215,159
2021-1115,250
2021-1016,308
2021-0918,943
2021-0815,988
2021-0714,675
2021-0612,751
2021-0512,365
2021-0414,732
2021-0318,625
2021-0213,008
2021-0113,885
2020-1214,590
2020-1116,083
2020-1012,631
2020-0911,913
2020-0811,613
2020-0711,171
2020-0613,139
2020-0517,540
2020-0426,098
2020-0315,471
2020-0216,282
2020-0124,920
2019-1223,721
2019-1122,226
2019-1023,125
2019-0921,232
2019-0817,253
2019-0715,466
2019-0615,873
2019-0516,187
2019-0418,482
2019-0321,646
2019-0214,767
2019-0119,548
2018-1219,028
2018-1120,090
2018-1023,278
2018-0925,114
2018-0820,499
2018-0717,079
2018-0617,711
2018-0518,897
2018-0418,894
2018-0324,508
2018-0215,259
2018-0116,986
2017-1215,765
2017-1118,409
2017-1017,918
2017-0918,190
2017-0816,351
2017-0714,535
2017-0614,597
2017-0517,446
2017-0422,483
2017-0327,940
2017-0216,345
2017-0118,748
2016-1217,038
2016-1118,344
2016-1020,150
2016-0920,749
2016-0819,708
2016-0713,954
2016-0614,195
2016-0517,750
2016-0417,599
2016-0324,062
2016-0216,475
2016-0120,159
2015-1216,402
2015-1120,694
2015-1023,363
2015-0924,277
2015-0817,837
2015-0715,107

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • William P. Murphy Medicine 1934
  • Walter Houser Brattain Physics 1956

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1361523490), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.