Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Corvallis, OR

Oregon State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $12,107 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $31,653.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $64,010 ten years after entering, the 84th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 70% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1856
Enrollment, 2023
41,142
Campus of Oregon State University

saml123 · CC BY 2.0

AboutPublic university in Corvallis, Oregon, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

Oregon State University (OSU) is a public land-grant research university in Corvallis, Oregon, United States. The university enrolls over 32,000 undergraduates and 5,000 graduate students. OSU offers more than 200 undergraduate degree programs, and graduate and doctoral degrees through all of its 11 colleges. It has been classified by the Carnegie Foundation as an R1 Doctoral University, designating "very high research spending and doctorate production". As of 2025, OSU is home to the fifth-largest engineering college in the nation.

From the Wikipedia article “Oregon State University”, revision 1363712510, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $31,653 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $12,107 and $27,459 a year depending on income at Oregon State University.

Statement of cost · Oregon State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$31,653
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$12,107
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$19,604
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$14,400

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $12,107; $30–48k: $13,036; $48–75k: $15,729; $75–110k: $20,262; over $110k: $27,459. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$12,107
$30k–$48k$13,036
$48k–$75k$15,729
$75k–$110k$20,262
Over $110k$27,459

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $64,010; the median graduate who borrowed owes $21,221.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$50,843
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$57,210
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
84th percentile among public 4-years
$64,010
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
66th percentile among public 4-years
$21,221
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $50,843; 8 yrs after entry: $57,210; 10 yrs after entry: $64,010. Median graduate debt: $21,221. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $21,221.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$50,843
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$57,210
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$64,010
Median graduate debt$21,221

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Oregon State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree877$109,905$26,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree419$69,262$24,738
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree328$49,486$25,340
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree263$94,649$24,666
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree215$60,964$24,201
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree193$54,017$22,846
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree163$49,012$26,000
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and PolicyBachelor's Degree155$45,158$34,429
Health/Medical Preparatory ProgramsBachelor's Degree141$103,024$23,168
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree119$93,312not reported
Public HealthBachelor's Degree112$60,183$24,000
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree109$105,331$24,167
Show all 27 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree104$81,470$22,041
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree100not reportednot reported
Geography and CartographyGraduate/Professional Certificate100not reportednot reported
Natural Resources Conservation and ResearchBachelor's Degree98$55,537$23,267
Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and ManagementBachelor's Degree98$49,281$33,518
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsGraduate/Professional Certificate93not reportednot reported
MarketingBachelor's Degree93$68,673$20,500
EconomicsBachelor's Degree88$76,531$23,849
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree71$153,136not reported
Veterinary MedicineFirst Professional Degree72$106,174not reported
Mechanical EngineeringMaster's Degree41$103,349not reported
Construction EngineeringBachelor's Degree65$106,199$27,000
PhysicsBachelor's Degree33not reported$25,410
Industrial EngineeringBachelor's Degree42$92,997$25,437
Biomedical/Medical EngineeringBachelor's Degree55$96,618$23,657

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Oregon State University: 30,743 undergraduates; 23% of students receive Pell grants; 77% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

77%

38th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

30,743

95th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

23%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

24th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

70%

finish within 150% of normal time

89th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

31%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$44,450

68th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k22%
  • $30k–$48k14%
  • $48k–$75k18%
  • $75k–$110k17%
  • Over $110k28%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k22%
$30k–$48k14%
$48k–$75k18%
$75k–$110k17%
Over $110k28%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 2,807 people who studied at Oregon State University, most often in science & academia (49%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 49% (1,172 people); medicine 0.7% (16 people); law 0.6% (15 people); politics & gov 4.5% (106 people); business 1.7% (41 people); engineering & tech 2.7% (65 people); writing & journalism 2.5% (59 people); film & stage 1.4% (32 people); music 0.6% (15 people); visual arts 1.1% (26 people); sports 34% (797 people); religion 0.1% (2 people); military 1.0% (24 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia1,17249.5%
medicine160.7%
law150.6%
politics & gov1064.5%
business411.7%
engineering & tech652.7%
writing & journalism592.5%
film & stage321.4%
music150.6%
visual arts261.1%
sports79733.6%
religion20.1%
military241.0%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (868) · basketball player (571) · university teacher (166) · American football player (107) · politician (99) · baseball player (50) · mathematician (43) · association football player (35)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 8% for the 1880s to 43% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 4 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1840snot reported2not reported
1850snot reported3not reported
1860snot reported2not reported
1870snot reported2not reported
1880s1128%
1890s1293%
1900s64412%
1910s63515%
1920s126216%
1930s126815%
1940s247923%
1950s286829%
1960s125219%
1970s134622%
1980s228620%
1990s3710027%
2000s192543%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 27,654 in 2023-11.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-069,950
2026-0511,573
2026-049,173
2026-0310,179
2026-028,417
2026-0111,032
2025-1211,813
2025-1113,588
2025-1014,669
2025-0915,451
2025-0812,080
2025-0711,316
2025-0611,828
2025-0511,021
2025-0411,000
2025-0312,789
2025-0210,564
2025-0116,538
2024-1215,247
2024-1115,720
2024-1017,457
2024-0920,182
2024-0815,383
2024-0714,171
2024-0615,564
2024-0513,155
2024-0414,572
2024-0318,666
2024-0214,467
2024-0116,953
2023-1219,039
2023-1127,654
2023-1017,126
2023-0923,747
2023-0820,307
2023-0713,889
2023-0613,560
2023-0513,510
2023-0412,216
2023-0314,373
2023-0211,648
2023-0112,705
2022-1212,802
2022-1119,149
2022-1015,444
2022-0917,574
2022-0812,991
2022-0713,202
2022-0613,337
2022-0511,553
2022-0411,721
2022-0312,514
2022-0211,196
2022-0112,975
2021-1211,651
2021-1113,820
2021-1013,025
2021-0915,168
2021-0813,660
2021-0713,234
2021-069,753
2021-059,949
2021-0411,223
2021-0323,169
2021-029,640
2021-0110,510
2020-1211,272
2020-1116,467
2020-1010,920
2020-0911,388
2020-0811,167
2020-079,928
2020-069,146
2020-0511,359
2020-0414,644
2020-0312,180
2020-0212,642
2020-0115,968
2019-1215,404
2019-1117,056
2019-1018,846
2019-0917,715
2019-0816,561
2019-0713,201
2019-0613,386
2019-0514,474
2019-0414,616
2019-0316,295
2019-0213,793
2019-0118,939
2018-1218,315
2018-1120,468
2018-1021,731
2018-0923,426
2018-0820,169
2018-0719,620
2018-0623,982
2018-0517,963
2018-0417,262
2018-0318,417
2018-0214,168
2018-0115,289
2017-1213,178
2017-1117,028
2017-1017,471
2017-0918,813
2017-0816,385
2017-0713,361
2017-0615,172
2017-0513,981
2017-0414,918
2017-0316,496
2017-0213,402
2017-0115,902
2016-1213,788
2016-1116,445
2016-1016,868
2016-0917,000
2016-0813,755
2016-0712,059
2016-0611,803
2016-0513,862
2016-0414,062
2016-0317,028
2016-0212,916
2016-0114,953
2015-1213,125
2015-1116,210
2015-1018,279
2015-0918,985
2015-0814,579
2015-0713,667

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Linus Pauling Chemistry 1954
  • Linus Pauling Peace 1962

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1363712510), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.