Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Saint Paul, MN

Metropolitan State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $15,238 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $25,172.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $64,705 ten years after entering, the 85th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 44% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
8,508

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $25,172 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $15,238 and $21,905 a year depending on income at Metropolitan State University.

Statement of cost · Metropolitan State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$25,172
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$15,238
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$16,863
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$9,840

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $15,238; $30–48k: $16,656; $48–75k: $16,659; $75–110k: $18,994; over $110k: $21,905. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$15,238
$30k–$48k$16,656
$48k–$75k$16,659
$75k–$110k$18,994
Over $110k$21,905

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $64,705; the median graduate who borrowed owes $17,100.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$54,828
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$59,836
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
85th percentile among public 4-years
$64,705
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
35th percentile among public 4-years
$17,100
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$12,900

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $54,828; 8 yrs after entry: $59,836; 10 yrs after entry: $64,705. Median graduate debt: $17,100. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $17,100.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$54,828
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$59,836
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$64,705
Median graduate debt$17,100

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Metropolitan State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree245$69,606$29,250
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree140$61,930$35,110
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree107$92,966$35,762
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree105$99,864$27,008
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree102$49,480$30,155
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree83$60,410$29,426
Social WorkBachelor's Degree63$57,301$29,615
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree60$67,821$32,828
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree56$83,445not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree55not reportednot reported
Human Services, GeneralBachelor's Degree53$51,794$31,000
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree50not reported$26,113
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree50$81,130$42,396
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree47$62,374$31,000
Information Science/StudiesBachelor's Degree43$82,008$25,000
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree42$64,963$34,516
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree37$64,316$28,619
MarketingBachelor's Degree36$61,040$27,000
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree35$60,038$34,933
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied ProfessionsBachelor's Degree27$58,761$42,688
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree13not reportednot reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma10$79,577$33,000
Management Information Systems and ServicesMaster's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Metropolitan State University: 5,616 undergraduates; 48% of students receive Pell grants; 99% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

99%

97th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

5,616

55th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

48%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

84th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

44%

finish within 150% of normal time

47th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

37%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$28,315

36th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k36%
  • $30k–$48k18%
  • $48k–$75k16%
  • $75k–$110k16%
  • Over $110k15%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k36%
$30k–$48k18%
$48k–$75k16%
$75k–$110k16%
Over $110k15%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.