Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Spearfish, SD

Black Hills State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $11,863 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $21,277.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $46,674 ten years after entering, the 40th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 43% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
5,614

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $21,277 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $11,863 and $18,604 a year depending on income at Black Hills State University.

Statement of cost · Black Hills State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$21,277
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$11,863
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$15,911
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$8,764

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $11,863; $30–48k: $13,379; $48–75k: $15,588; $75–110k: $18,072; over $110k: $18,604. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$11,863
$30k–$48k$13,379
$48k–$75k$15,588
$75k–$110k$18,072
Over $110k$18,604

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $46,674; the median graduate who borrowed owes $26,000.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$38,927
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$42,393
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
40th percentile among public 4-years
$46,674
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
95th percentile among public 4-years
$26,000
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$15,000

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $38,927; 8 yrs after entry: $42,393; 10 yrs after entry: $46,674. Median graduate debt: $26,000. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $26,000.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$38,927
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$42,393
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$46,674
Median graduate debt$26,000

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Black Hills State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree82$54,682$27,000
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree41$48,096$26,312
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree27not reported$26,613
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree26$45,938$24,000
Biology, GeneralAssociate's Degree21not reported$14,625
Community Organization and AdvocacyBachelor's Degree21$32,818$31,500
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree20$36,298$27,187
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree17$49,671not reported
English Language and Literature, GeneralBachelor's Degree16not reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree16not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree14$51,966not reported
HistoryBachelor's Degree14not reportednot reported
Show all 23 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree12not reportednot reported
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree10not reportednot reported
Outdoor EducationBachelor's Degree10not reportednot reported
Film/Video and Photographic ArtsBachelor's Degree10not reportednot reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree9$43,841not reported
SociologyUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma9not reportednot reported
SociologyBachelor's Degree9$41,764$37,329
MathematicsBachelor's Degree8not reportednot reported
Human Resources Management and ServicesMaster's Degree7not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree4not reportednot reported
Curriculum and InstructionMaster's Degree5not reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Black Hills State University: 1,928 undergraduates; 20% of students receive Pell grants; 96% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

96%

88th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

1,928

25th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

20%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

16th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

43%

finish within 150% of normal time

44th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

28%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$51,046

77th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k18%
  • $30k–$48k14%
  • $48k–$75k21%
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k18%
$30k–$48k14%
$48k–$75k21%
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.