Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Houston, TX

Houston City College

Public4-year · Associate's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $5,722 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $12,009.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $39,254 ten years after entering, the 14th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 17% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
68,706

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $12,009 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $4,271 and $10,123 a year depending on income at Houston City College.

Statement of cost · Houston City College

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$12,009
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$5,722
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$5,737
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$2,040

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $5,722; $30–48k: $4,271; $48–75k: $6,534; $75–110k: $8,363; over $110k: $10,123. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$5,722
$30k–$48k$4,271
$48k–$75k$6,534
$75k–$110k$8,363
Over $110k$10,123

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $39,254; the median graduate who borrowed owes $13,921.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$31,319
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$34,776
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
14th percentile among public 4-years
$39,254
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
25th percentile among public 4-years
$13,921
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$8,752

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $31,319; 8 yrs after entry: $34,776; 10 yrs after entry: $39,254. Median graduate debt: $13,921. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $13,921.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$31,319
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$34,776
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$39,254
Median graduate debt$13,921

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Houston City College
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesAssociate's Degree1,775$45,840$17,106
Business Administration, Management and OperationsAssociate's Degree864$46,026$16,045
Biology, GeneralAssociate's Degree582not reported$11,005
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, GeneralAssociate's Degree163$34,236not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degree153$101,897$18,770
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsAssociate's Degree152$56,145$16,250
Allied Health and Medical Assisting ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma127$37,840$16,035
Psychology, GeneralAssociate's Degree126not reportednot reported
Computer ScienceAssociate's Degree106not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma92$76,949$14,249
Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsAssociate's Degree89not reported$18,862
Precision Metal WorkingUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma89$39,000$10,022
Show all 25 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming ServicesUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma84$16,802$14,999
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma81$56,987$13,925
Electrical and Power Transmission InstallersUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma78not reportednot reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsAssociate's Degree75$81,939$16,975
Vehicle Maintenance and Repair Technologies/TechniciansUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma66not reportednot reported
Engineering ScienceAssociate's Degree65$73,244$17,814
Business Administration, Management and OperationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma63$35,125$16,125
Computer Systems Networking and TelecommunicationsUndergraduate Certificate or Diploma59not reportednot reported
Dental Support Services and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree12$64,875not reported
Physical Science Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree39$63,218$21,740
Mining and Petroleum Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree13$44,842$31,138
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied ProfessionsAssociate's Degree16not reported$16,250
Drafting/Design Engineering Technologies/TechniciansAssociate's Degree28$55,016$12,040

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Houston City College: 40,503 undergraduates; 36% of students receive Pell grants.

Admission rate

not reported

Undergraduates

40,503

98th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

36%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

62nd percentile among public 4-years

Completion

17%

finish within 150% of normal time

4th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

50%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$19,772

11th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k58%
  • $30k–$48k23%
  • $48k–$75k12%
  • $75k–$110k4%
  • Over $110k3%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k58%
$30k–$48k23%
$48k–$75k12%
$75k–$110k4%
Over $110k3%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.