Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Provo, UT

Brigham Young University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $10,444 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $22,690.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $75,790 ten years after entering, the 88th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 81% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1875
Enrollment, 2023
41,238
Website
byu.edu
Campus of Brigham Young University

Eustress · Public domain

AboutPrivate university in Provo, Utah, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

Brigham Young University (BYU) is a private research university in Provo, Utah, United States. It was founded in 1875 by religious leader Brigham Young and is the flagship university of the Church Educational System (CES) of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

From the Wikipedia article “Brigham Young University”, revision 1362796022, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $22,690 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $10,112 and $20,542 a year depending on income at Brigham Young University.

Statement of cost · Brigham Young University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$22,690
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$10,444
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$15,564
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$6,688

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $10,444; $30–48k: $10,112; $48–75k: $13,062; $75–110k: $16,378; over $110k: $20,542. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$10,444
$30k–$48k$10,112
$48k–$75k$13,062
$75k–$110k$16,378
Over $110k$20,542

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $75,790; the median graduate who borrowed owes $11,069.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$58,450
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$66,055
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
88th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$75,790
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
4th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$11,069
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$8,310

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $58,450; 8 yrs after entry: $66,055; 10 yrs after entry: $75,790. Median graduate debt: $11,069. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $11,069.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$58,450
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$66,055
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$75,790
Median graduate debt$11,069

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Brigham Young University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesBachelor's Degree302$70,249$13,000
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree266$30,899$11,250
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree256$107,301$8,727
Research and Experimental PsychologyBachelor's Degree240not reportednot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree222not reported$9,000
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree216$118,744$11,750
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree202$71,225$11,975
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree196$36,698$13,385
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree183$124,873$12,000
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree179$97,124$10,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree176$176,381not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasBachelor's Degree172$52,995$9,117
Show all 26 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree165$114,584not reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree159$98,908$11,000
Public HealthBachelor's Degree158$65,816$10,924
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree146$79,248$11,745
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population BiologyBachelor's Degree140$60,660$10,459
StatisticsBachelor's Degree130$107,867$10,750
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree130$27,616$9,281
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree129$46,396$7,830
Computer EngineeringBachelor's Degree81$146,934$10,750
Computer ScienceMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree18not reportednot reported
Business/Managerial EconomicsBachelor's Degree54$135,399not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degreenot reportednot reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree63$123,638$14,250

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Brigham Young University: 32,952 undergraduates; 32% of students receive Pell grants; 68% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

68%

38th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Undergraduates

32,952

above the 99th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

32%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

47th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

81%

finish within 150% of normal time

88th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

14%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$46,790

55th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k19%
  • $30k–$48k13%
  • $48k–$75knot reported
  • $75k–$110knot reported
  • Over $110knot reported
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k19%
$30k–$48k13%
$48k–$75knot reported
$75k–$110knot reported
Over $110knot reported

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 2,878 people who studied at Brigham Young University, most often in science & academia (32%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 32% (923 people); medicine 1.0% (30 people); law 4.4% (127 people); politics & gov 8.5% (247 people); business 2.6% (77 people); engineering & tech 1.7% (48 people); writing & journalism 8.2% (238 people); film & stage 3.3% (96 people); music 2.6% (76 people); visual arts 2.1% (60 people); sports 28% (815 people); religion 5.3% (155 people); military 0.5% (14 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia92331.8%
medicine301.0%
law1274.4%
politics & gov2478.5%
business772.6%
engineering & tech481.7%
writing & journalism2388.2%
film & stage963.3%
music762.6%
visual arts602.1%
sports81528.1%
religion1555.3%
military140.5%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsbasketball player (585) · researcher (554) · politician (231) · university teacher (163) · writer (135) · American football player (119) · lawyer (109) · priest (79)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 13% for the 1860s to 19% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 1 decade is marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1850snot reported6not reported
1860s21413%
1870s71729%
1880s21711%
1890s32212%
1900s3407%
1910s32511%
1920s5647%
1930s1712012%
1940s2822511%
1950s3623613%
1960s2216312%
1970s4314223%
1980s337929%
1990s286530%
2000s73019%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 77,817 in 2022-10.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0630,344
2026-0531,605
2026-0431,494
2026-0334,551
2026-0231,275
2026-0141,817
2025-1255,215
2025-1145,671
2025-1051,862
2025-0951,332
2025-0831,282
2025-0730,982
2025-0632,251
2025-0533,688
2025-0436,003
2025-0376,517
2025-0240,561
2025-0165,103
2024-1268,110
2024-1157,275
2024-1057,469
2024-0962,213
2024-0842,985
2024-0742,961
2024-0632,213
2024-0537,355
2024-0450,323
2024-0360,862
2024-0243,932
2024-0154,711
2023-1251,079
2023-1169,616
2023-1058,048
2023-0960,830
2023-0845,203
2023-0740,812
2023-0638,306
2023-0538,485
2023-0437,117
2023-0341,222
2023-0234,905
2023-0143,719
2022-1245,929
2022-1148,882
2022-1077,817
2022-0965,346
2022-0845,722
2022-0744,241
2022-0647,041
2022-0545,197
2022-0475,038
2022-0345,803
2022-0233,037
2022-0140,967
2021-1243,514
2021-1138,559
2021-1052,567
2021-0962,638
2021-0838,172
2021-0733,694
2021-0631,202
2021-0541,048
2021-0451,144
2021-0359,843
2021-0236,592
2021-0144,801
2020-1251,436
2020-1149,366
2020-1042,752
2020-0938,132
2020-0833,805
2020-0731,831
2020-0635,523
2020-0553,623
2020-0445,775
2020-0340,885
2020-0249,731
2020-0152,587
2019-1250,958
2019-1150,870
2019-1051,494
2019-0976,341
2019-0842,295
2019-0733,947
2019-0633,171
2019-0535,585
2019-0437,707
2019-0340,248
2019-0233,206
2019-0140,346
2018-1243,951
2018-1142,487
2018-1049,296
2018-0955,897
2018-0832,893
2018-0730,342
2018-0629,993
2018-0529,855
2018-0431,840
2018-0335,427
2018-0230,281
2018-0137,803
2017-1235,070
2017-1139,708
2017-1053,983
2017-0954,929
2017-0838,341
2017-0732,994
2017-0632,754
2017-0536,957
2017-0441,500
2017-0342,324
2017-0237,267
2017-0138,531
2016-1241,336
2016-1140,359
2016-1055,064
2016-0951,526
2016-0837,514
2016-0731,310
2016-0632,693
2016-0537,311
2016-0438,449
2016-0339,168
2016-0231,653
2016-0132,720
2015-1240,455
2015-1135,290
2015-1046,031
2015-0963,275
2015-0832,499
2015-0730,748

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Paul D. Boyer Chemistry 1997

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1362796022), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.