Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Salt Lake City, UT

Western Governors University

Private nonprofit4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $12,064 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $16,728.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $60,615 ten years after entering, the 71st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years.

  3. 46% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
236,992

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $16,728 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $12,064 and $14,824 a year depending on income at Western Governors University.

Statement of cost · Western Governors University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$16,728
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$12,064
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$12,548
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$8,658

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $12,064; $30–48k: $12,436; $48–75k: $12,578; $75–110k: $14,824; over $110k: $12,734. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, from $17,360 to $28,210; dotted line at the median, $22,313.
  • Shaded: the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years (all incomes), $17,360 to $28,210. Dotted line: the median, $22,313.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$12,064
$30k–$48k$12,436
$48k–$75k$12,578
$75k–$110k$14,824
Over $110k$12,734

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $60,615; the median graduate who borrowed owes $11,116.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$69,572
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$68,924
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
71st percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$60,615
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
4th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years
$11,116
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$8,318

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years: $43,845 to $62,830.

6 yrs after entry: $69,572; 8 yrs after entry: $68,924; 10 yrs after entry: $60,615. Median graduate debt: $11,116. Shaded band: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years at 10 years, from $43,845 to $62,830; dotted line at the median, $52,889.
  • Shaded: middle half of private nonprofit 4-years, 10 years out ($43,845 to $62,830); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $11,116.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$69,572
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$68,924
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$60,615
Median graduate debt$11,116

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at Western Governors University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree7,786$97,743$22,660
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree4,366$94,290not reported
Curriculum and InstructionMaster's Degree3,728$67,901not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree2,505$79,431$22,087
Educational Assessment, Evaluation, and ResearchBachelor's Degree2,015not reportednot reported
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementBachelor's Degree2,001not reported$16,194
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree1,949$110,112not reported
Educational/Instructional Media DesignMaster's Degree1,810$69,997not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesMaster's Degree1,796not reportednot reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree1,496$43,489not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject AreasMaster's Degree1,495$65,381not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsMaster's Degree1,308not reportednot reported
Show all 24 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree1,301$68,709$22,489
Computer/Information Technology Administration and ManagementMaster's Degree1,149$138,406not reported
Health and Medical Administrative ServicesBachelor's Degree1,116not reported$27,864
Health Professions Education, Ethics, and HumanitiesMaster's Degree1,105not reportednot reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree840not reported$17,796
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree828not reportednot reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree710$103,842$23,167
Management Information Systems and ServicesMaster's Degree672$123,017not reported
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsBachelor's Degree200not reported$23,287
Computer Software and Media ApplicationsMaster's Degree584not reportednot reported
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing OperationsBachelor's Degree1$100,631$24,272
Educational Administration and SupervisionNon-Credential Program (Preparatory Coursework/Teacher Certification)not reportednot reportednot reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

Western Governors University: 155,088 undergraduates; 39% of students receive Pell grants.

Admission rate

not reported

Undergraduates

155,088

above the 99th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Pell share

39%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

63rd percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Completion

46%

finish within 150% of normal time

30th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

First-generation

47%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$46,442

55th percentile among private nonprofit 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k29%
  • $30k–$48k16%
  • $48k–$75k20%
  • $75k–$110k17%
  • Over $110k18%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k29%
$30k–$48k16%
$48k–$75k20%
$75k–$110k17%
Over $110k18%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.