Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Tuscaloosa, AL

The University of Alabama

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $19,169 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $33,382.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $59,221 ten years after entering, the 73rd percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 73% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1831
Enrollment, 2023
42,869
Website
ua.edu

AboutPublic university in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Alabama is a public research university in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States. Established in 1820 and opened to students in 1831, the University of Alabama is the oldest and largest of the public universities in Alabama as well as the University of Alabama System. It is classified among "R1: Doctoral Universities – Very high research activity".

From the Wikipedia article “University of Alabama”, revision 1361795328, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $33,382 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $19,169 and $26,729 a year depending on income at The University of Alabama.

Statement of cost · The University of Alabama

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$33,382
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$19,169
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$22,420
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$12,180

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $19,169; $30–48k: $19,884; $48–75k: $22,258; $75–110k: $25,658; over $110k: $26,729. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$19,169
$30k–$48k$19,884
$48k–$75k$22,258
$75k–$110k$25,658
Over $110k$26,729

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $59,221; the median graduate who borrowed owes $22,750.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$52,233
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$56,012
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
73rd percentile among public 4-years
$59,221
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
77th percentile among public 4-years
$22,750
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$17,986

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $52,233; 8 yrs after entry: $56,012; 10 yrs after entry: $59,221. Median graduate debt: $22,750. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $22,750.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$52,233
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$56,012
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$59,221
Median graduate debt$22,750

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at The University of Alabama
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree572$84,758$25,000
MarketingBachelor's Degree569$80,393$23,071
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree374$80,311$25,006
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree356$47,796$25,000
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied CommunicationBachelor's Degree315$64,089$25,000
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree281not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree261$114,582not reported
CriminologyBachelor's Degree253not reportednot reported
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree230$61,478$24,412
Accounting and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree226$79,435$23,000
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree224$91,807$24,755
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree200$61,049$23,785
Show all 28 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree199$69,113$25,000
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree186not reportednot reported
EconomicsBachelor's Degree160not reportednot reported
Public HealthBachelor's Degree152not reported$25,000
Social WorkMaster's Degree145$53,526not reported
Foods, Nutrition, and Related ServicesBachelor's Degree131not reported$27,000
LawFirst Professional Degree126$100,203not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree121$52,949$25,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree0$140,861not reported
Legal Research and Advanced Professional StudiesMaster's Degree29$119,652not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree87$108,815not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree93$102,009$22,000
Management Sciences and Quantitative MethodsMaster's Degree29$126,862not reported
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree102$110,434$21,875
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree101$97,080$23,003
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree35$99,694not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

The University of Alabama: 33,227 undergraduates; 18% of students receive Pell grants; 77% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

77%

38th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

33,227

96th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

18%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

13th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

73%

finish within 150% of normal time

91st percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

23%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$66,734

89th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k20%
  • $30k–$48k12%
  • $48k–$75k14%
  • $75k–$110k14%
  • Over $110k39%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k20%
$30k–$48k12%
$48k–$75k14%
$75k–$110k14%
Over $110k39%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 2,345 people who studied at The University of Alabama, most often in sports (48%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 20% (446 people); medicine 1.0% (22 people); law 7.3% (167 people); politics & gov 8.6% (196 people); business 2.7% (61 people); engineering & tech 1.2% (27 people); writing & journalism 5.2% (118 people); film & stage 1.7% (39 people); music 1.1% (24 people); visual arts 1.4% (33 people); sports 48% (1,097 people); religion 0.5% (12 people); military 1.8% (42 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia44619.5%
medicine221.0%
law1677.3%
politics & gov1968.6%
business612.7%
engineering & tech271.2%
writing & journalism1185.2%
film & stage391.7%
music241.1%
visual arts331.4%
sports1,09748.0%
religion120.5%
military421.8%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsbasketball player (547) · American football player (381) · researcher (272) · politician (187) · lawyer (155) · university teacher (108) · judge (64) · baseball player (58)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 5% for the 1890s to 24% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn, and 9 decades are marked not reported for women. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1800snot reported1not reported
1810snot reported9not reported
1820snot reported11not reported
1830snot reported10not reported
1840snot reported6not reported
1850snot reported5not reported
1860snot reported15not reported
1870snot reported17not reported
1880snot reported21not reported
1890s2365%
1900s5637%
1910s98310%
1920s159314%
1930s98310%
1940s228720%
1950s2211416%
1960s3010123%
1970s297927%
1980s399330%
1990s6711637%
2000s206524%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 54,159 in 2017-01.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0613,002
2026-0514,384
2026-0416,054
2026-0315,662
2026-0212,935
2026-0119,292
2025-1221,026
2025-1123,873
2025-1022,174
2025-0922,988
2025-0821,249
2025-0713,600
2025-0614,346
2025-0517,763
2025-0417,126
2025-0327,138
2025-0220,766
2025-0123,216
2024-1222,300
2024-1124,507
2024-1029,291
2024-0935,385
2024-0822,740
2024-0717,067
2024-0615,400
2024-0517,473
2024-0420,695
2024-0328,359
2024-0218,993
2024-0142,714
2023-1229,659
2023-1129,536
2023-1027,614
2023-0933,332
2023-0828,337
2023-0718,798
2023-0620,193
2023-0525,366
2023-0420,606
2023-0325,499
2023-0220,518
2023-0125,777
2022-1223,433
2022-1129,316
2022-1032,915
2022-0929,045
2022-0827,092
2022-0718,423
2022-0616,213
2022-0518,203
2022-0420,053
2022-0319,957
2022-0218,561
2022-0133,327
2021-1229,842
2021-1130,684
2021-1030,540
2021-0929,470
2021-0825,223
2021-0718,170
2021-0615,036
2021-0517,813
2021-0419,346
2021-0322,631
2021-0216,399
2021-0136,349
2020-1222,376
2020-1122,675
2020-1022,705
2020-0918,728
2020-0826,918
2020-0716,592
2020-0616,171
2020-0521,412
2020-0426,213
2020-0321,628
2020-0221,074
2020-0128,497
2019-1231,526
2019-1142,400
2019-1032,431
2019-0937,429
2019-0827,368
2019-0721,318
2019-0622,695
2019-0525,074
2019-0424,096
2019-0325,911
2019-0220,771
2019-0149,773
2018-1241,214
2018-1141,759
2018-1036,201
2018-0936,252
2018-0827,324
2018-0720,065
2018-0618,496
2018-0521,054
2018-0422,497
2018-0323,531
2018-0219,098
2018-0153,132
2017-1233,027
2017-1144,603
2017-1030,542
2017-0931,378
2017-0823,880
2017-0718,928
2017-0619,153
2017-0522,014
2017-0423,336
2017-0323,766
2017-0221,514
2017-0154,159
2016-1235,802
2016-1136,738
2016-1032,178
2016-0934,263
2016-0822,288
2016-0717,602
2016-0617,778
2016-0522,139
2016-0421,972
2016-0321,921
2016-0223,295
2016-0153,833
2015-1227,211
2015-1133,537
2015-1029,124
2015-0931,351
2015-0824,618
2015-0719,484

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1361795328), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.