Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Tucson, AZ

University of Arizona

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $13,353 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $29,423.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $59,979 ten years after entering, the 73rd percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 68% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Founded
1885
Enrollment, 2023
55,911
Campus of University of Arizona

Zereshk · CC BY-SA 3.0

AboutPublic university in Tucson, Arizona, US. Wikipedia ↗

Read the Wikipedia extract

The University of Arizona is a public land-grant research university in Tucson, Arizona, United States. Founded in 1885 by the 13th Arizona Territorial Legislature, it was the first university established in the Arizona Territory. The University of Arizona is one of three universities governed by the Arizona Board of Regents. As of fall 2025, the university enrolled 54,384 students in 22 separate colleges/schools, including the Eller College of Management, the Wyant College of Optical Sciences, the College of Medicine – Phoenix, the College of Medicine – Tucson, and the James E. Rogers College of Law.

From the Wikipedia article “University of Arizona”, revision 1360483562, used under CC BY-SA 4.0.

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $29,423 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $13,353 and $22,307 a year depending on income at University of Arizona.

Statement of cost · University of Arizona

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$29,423
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$13,353
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$16,674
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$13,926

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $13,353; $30–48k: $14,984; $48–75k: $16,051; $75–110k: $19,777; over $110k: $22,307. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$13,353
$30k–$48k$14,984
$48k–$75k$16,051
$75k–$110k$19,777
Over $110k$22,307

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $59,979; the median graduate who borrowed owes $19,620.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$47,665
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$55,966
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
73rd percentile among public 4-years
$59,979
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
52nd percentile among public 4-years
$19,620
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$13,750

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $47,665; 8 yrs after entry: $55,966; 10 yrs after entry: $59,979. Median graduate debt: $19,620. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $19,620.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$47,665
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$55,966
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$59,979
Median graduate debt$19,620

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at University of Arizona
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree488$51,974$20,374
Physiology, Pathology and Related SciencesBachelor's Degree274$65,726$19,500
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree272$85,529$21,500
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, GeneralBachelor's Degree260$53,789$25,000
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree252$71,141$19,750
Human Resources Management and ServicesBachelor's Degree250$76,592$19,500
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree247$129,743not reported
Computer ScienceBachelor's Degree223$115,435$23,000
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree218$71,600$24,112
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree203$106,340$20,628
Management Information Systems and ServicesBachelor's Degree200$92,686$20,175
Intelligence, Command Control and Information OperationsBachelor's Degree196not reportednot reported
Show all 27 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
MarketingBachelor's Degree195$89,951$22,125
Public HealthBachelor's Degree193$58,292$21,699
MedicineFirst Professional Degree183$172,567not reported
Political Science and GovernmentBachelor's Degree182$64,459$21,630
Legal Professions and Studies, OtherBachelor's Degree169not reported$20,937
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree159$104,234not reported
Nutrition SciencesBachelor's Degree157$56,205$23,563
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree152not reportednot reported
PhysicsMaster's Degree76$131,926not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringMaster's Degree102$123,395not reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree121$143,107not reported
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree10$122,163not reported
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralMaster's Degree121$111,198not reported
Systems EngineeringMaster's Degree23not reportednot reported
Mining and Mineral EngineeringBachelor's Degree16$102,825$11,500

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

University of Arizona: 42,537 undergraduates; 26% of students receive Pell grants; 86% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

86%

55th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

42,537

99th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

26%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

30th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

68%

finish within 150% of normal time

86th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

31%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$43,043

66th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k29%
  • $30k–$48k17%
  • $48k–$75k16%
  • $75k–$110k13%
  • Over $110k26%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k29%
$30k–$48k17%
$48k–$75k16%
$75k–$110k13%
Over $110k26%

Who Wikipedia remembers

Wikidata records 4,506 people who studied at University of Arizona, most often in science & academia (54%). That is the archive's memory, not a census.

What the recorded alumni are remembered for

Share of recorded people by field, in a fixed order so schools compare.

Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school, in a fixed order: science & academia 54% (2,235 people); medicine 1.2% (51 people); law 1.6% (65 people); politics & gov 3.8% (156 people); business 1.9% (77 people); engineering & tech 2.6% (109 people); writing & journalism 5.1% (209 people); film & stage 2.9% (119 people); music 1.2% (50 people); visual arts 1.8% (76 people); sports 22% (915 people); religion 0.2% (7 people); military 1.0% (41 people). These are shares of people recorded in Wikidata, the archive's memory, not a census of alumni.
Table of the same numbers
Fields of the people the archive recorded for this school (the archive's memory, not a census)
FieldPeople recordedShare
science & academia2,23554.4%
medicine511.2%
law651.6%
politics & gov1563.8%
business771.9%
engineering & tech1092.6%
writing & journalism2095.1%
film & stage1192.9%
music501.2%
visual arts761.8%
sports91522.3%
religion70.2%
military411.0%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

most recorded occupationsresearcher (1,522) · basketball player (586) · university teacher (376) · politician (142) · writer (114) · American football player (113) · anthropologist (79) · baseball player (78)

Women among recorded alumni, by birth decade

Counts reflect who the archive records, not a census.

Share of women among recorded alumni, from 40% for the 1870s to 35% for the 2000s. Decades with fewer than 5 recorded people are not drawn. The line breaks at every decade not drawn.

Counts only people the archive records with a gender. Hollow marks are decades with no women reported or fewer than 5 recorded, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Recorded alumni by birth decade
BornWomenMenShare women
1870s2340%
1880s3827%
1890s1156%
1900s123526%
1910s94517%
1920s217322%
1930s1810615%
1940s3716319%
1950s5419422%
1960s6416528%
1970s6713134%
1980s6010736%
1990s519136%
2000s264935%

Source: Wikidata, via the archive's memory (not a census).

Wikipedia attention, by month

Wikipedia attention

monthly views

Monthly Wikipedia article views from 2015-07 to 2026-06; peak 36,887 in 2017-03.
Table of the same numbers
Wikipedia article views by month
MonthViews
2026-0613,298
2026-0514,846
2026-0417,866
2026-0325,063
2026-0220,574
2026-0116,438
2025-1215,531
2025-1118,321
2025-1018,446
2025-0917,967
2025-0816,755
2025-0714,489
2025-0614,559
2025-0515,908
2025-0417,138
2025-0333,103
2025-0219,150
2025-0124,856
2024-1220,841
2024-1121,111
2024-1021,447
2024-0923,763
2024-0821,567
2024-0717,027
2024-0616,794
2024-0521,140
2024-0423,083
2024-0328,061
2024-0222,303
2024-0127,527
2023-1225,016
2023-1125,444
2023-1023,680
2023-0924,317
2023-0831,147
2023-0721,784
2023-0623,225
2023-0524,086
2023-0424,466
2023-0330,548
2023-0222,847
2023-0124,855
2022-1221,811
2022-1123,696
2022-1024,498
2022-0924,659
2022-0824,535
2022-0721,520
2022-0620,272
2022-0523,537
2022-0423,195
2022-0327,938
2022-0224,230
2022-0123,417
2021-1221,662
2021-1123,481
2021-1025,154
2021-0925,412
2021-0826,496
2021-0723,293
2021-0619,399
2021-0521,950
2021-0425,355
2021-0323,250
2021-0221,431
2021-0121,880
2020-1224,305
2020-1124,412
2020-1021,798
2020-0919,825
2020-0820,767
2020-0718,613
2020-0619,405
2020-0529,068
2020-0431,612
2020-0325,413
2020-0229,016
2020-0130,106
2019-1233,924
2019-1132,372
2019-1032,046
2019-0932,251
2019-0827,464
2019-0722,849
2019-0622,549
2019-0526,771
2019-0430,036
2019-0331,198
2019-0225,452
2019-0129,137
2018-1229,781
2018-1130,071
2018-1030,922
2018-0930,578
2018-0832,363
2018-0723,849
2018-0622,638
2018-0527,101
2018-0427,124
2018-0330,836
2018-0225,566
2018-0126,743
2017-1223,780
2017-1125,844
2017-1024,907
2017-0925,381
2017-0825,786
2017-0719,498
2017-0620,901
2017-0524,508
2017-0425,348
2017-0336,887
2017-0224,798
2017-0126,038
2016-1223,923
2016-1126,732
2016-1026,033
2016-0926,902
2016-0824,780
2016-0720,692
2016-0624,824
2016-0525,413
2016-0424,867
2016-0330,030
2016-0225,590
2016-0127,069
2015-1224,126
2015-1125,785
2015-1026,055
2015-0927,111
2015-0823,151
2015-0721,041

Source: Wikimedia pageviews.

Nobel laureates who studied here

  • Brian Schmidt Physics 2011

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.
  • Wikidata is not an alumni census: a person appears only when volunteer editors record them. Counts measure the archive's memory - access x achievement x documentation - never placement rates or institutional quality.
  • Images are from Wikimedia Commons under free licenses. Render the credit line (artist + license) with every image.

Lead text from Wikipedia (revision 1360483562), licensed CC BY-SA 4.0.