Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Las Cruces, NM

New Mexico State University-Main Campus

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $6,648 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $23,274.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $39,067 ten years after entering, the 13th percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 55% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
16,277

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $23,274 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $6,648 and $14,049 a year depending on income at New Mexico State University-Main Campus.

Statement of cost · New Mexico State University-Main Campus

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$23,274
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$6,648
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$8,889
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$8,183

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $6,648; $30–48k: $7,424; $48–75k: $9,861; $75–110k: $13,146; over $110k: $14,049. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$6,648
$30k–$48k$7,424
$48k–$75k$9,861
$75k–$110k$13,146
Over $110k$14,049

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $39,067; the median graduate who borrowed owes $17,095.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$32,960
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$36,423
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
13th percentile among public 4-years
$39,067
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
35th percentile among public 4-years
$17,095
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$10,250

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $32,960; 8 yrs after entry: $36,423; 10 yrs after entry: $39,067. Median graduate debt: $17,095. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $17,095.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$32,960
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$36,423
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$39,067
Median graduate debt$17,095

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at New Mexico State University-Main Campus
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree182$77,392$20,500
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree152$45,750$20,642
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree141$45,935$24,656
Mechanical EngineeringBachelor's Degree122$98,083$18,759
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree104$45,418$17,725
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree99$49,889$20,312
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree92$46,143$24,705
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree90$87,850$21,261
Social WorkMaster's Degree83$57,497not reported
Business/Commerce, GeneralBachelor's Degree83$46,931$24,225
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space EngineeringBachelor's Degree80$95,469$24,537
Animal SciencesBachelor's Degree77$41,175$18,489
Show all 26 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
MarketingBachelor's Degree76$64,563$21,297
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree74$51,840$20,500
Education, GeneralMaster's Degree70$55,742not reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree69$83,221not reported
Public HealthMaster's Degree57not reportednot reported
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree57$60,042$20,000
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and ServicesBachelor's Degree46$46,805$19,125
Finance and Financial Management ServicesBachelor's Degree44$55,084$15,670
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree1not reportednot reported
Industrial EngineeringMaster's Degree31$99,578not reported
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications EngineeringBachelor's Degree41$97,373$23,250
Chemical EngineeringBachelor's Degree25$89,216$15,000
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingAssociate's Degreenot reported$80,465$16,467
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree15$76,932not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

New Mexico State University-Main Campus: 11,946 undergraduates; 38% of students receive Pell grants; 89% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

89%

66th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

11,946

77th percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

38%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

67th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

55%

finish within 150% of normal time

71st percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

44%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$23,951

25th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k49%
  • $30k–$48k21%
  • $48k–$75k14%
  • $75k–$110k8%
  • Over $110k7%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k49%
$30k–$48k21%
$48k–$75k14%
$75k–$110k8%
Over $110k7%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.