Skip to content
College Ledger

Statement · Johnson City, TN

East Tennessee State University

Public4-year · Bachelor's degreesCompare with other schools →

  1. Families earning under $30k paid $12,433 a year after grants and aid, against a published cost of $27,042.

  2. Students who received federal aid earned a median $44,859 ten years after entering, the 33rd percentile among public 4-years.

  3. 53% of students finish within 150% of normal time.

Enrollment, 2023
15,271

What it costs

The published sticker cost is $27,042 a year; after grants, families who received aid paid between $12,433 and $21,193 a year depending on income at East Tennessee State University.

Statement of cost · East Tennessee State University

Family income (per year)
Sticker costPublished yearly cost of attendance, all students
$27,042
What families earning under $30k paidYearly net price after grants, for students receiving federal aid
$12,433
Average net price, all incomesAided students, all family incomes
$15,983
In-state tuition & feesLatest reported, 2024
$10,472

Each figure is reported separately; none is computed from another.

Net price by family income

Pick an income bracket above; the marked point follows. Dollars are what aided families paid each year after grants.

Yearly net price by family income, in dollars

under $30k: $12,433; $30–48k: $14,289; $48–75k: $16,400; $75–110k: $20,588; over $110k: $21,193. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years, from $8,778 to $16,425; dotted line at the median, $12,780.
  • Shaded: the middle half of public 4-years (all incomes), $8,778 to $16,425. Dotted line: the median, $12,780.
Table of the same numbers
Average yearly net price by family income bracket
Family incomePaid per year
Under $30k$12,433
$30k–$48k$14,289
$48k–$75k$16,400
$75k–$110k$20,588
Over $110k$21,193

College Scorecard, 2023–24 aid cohort (students who received federal aid)

What graduates earn and owe

Ten years after entry, the median federally aided student here earns $44,859; the median graduate who borrowed owes $19,442.

Statement, continued

Earnings, 6 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$38,704
Earnings, 8 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
$41,898
Median earnings 10 years after entryFederally aided (Title IV) students only. Median.
33rd percentile among public 4-years
$44,859
Median debt, graduatesStudents who finished and borrowed federal loans.
45th percentile among public 4-years
$19,442
Median debt, all who borrowedEveryone who borrowed, whether or not they finished.
$14,400

Earnings and debt come from federal aid records, so students who never received federal aid are not counted.

Earnings after entry

The shaded band is the middle half of public 4-years at 10 years: $42,655 to $60,720.

6 yrs after entry: $38,704; 8 yrs after entry: $41,898; 10 yrs after entry: $44,859. Median graduate debt: $19,442. Shaded band: middle half of public 4-years at 10 years, from $42,655 to $60,720; dotted line at the median, $50,178.
  • Shaded: middle half of public 4-years, 10 years out ($42,655 to $60,720); dotted line is the median.
  • Dashed: median graduate debt, $19,442.

Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Hollow marks are rungs with no reported value, not zero.

Table of the same numbers
Earnings after entry and graduate debt
MeasureDollars
Median earnings, 6 yrs after entry$38,704
Median earnings, 8 yrs after entry$41,898
Median earnings, 10 yrs after entry$44,859
Median graduate debt$19,442

College Scorecard, federal tax and aid records

What programs pay

Median earnings five years after completing, by field of study. Small programs are privacy-suppressed and shown as not reported, never zero.

What programs pay at East Tennessee State University
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingBachelor's Degree588$74,304$25,091
Psychology, GeneralBachelor's Degree140$37,942$17,976
Business Administration, Management and OperationsBachelor's Degree126$51,918$19,725
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/FitnessBachelor's Degree108$46,637$22,036
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesBachelor's Degree100$41,482$25,000
Biology, GeneralBachelor's Degree91$50,185$20,625
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingMaster's Degree82$107,519not reported
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, OtherBachelor's Degree80$53,532$20,500
MarketingBachelor's Degree80$45,416$21,819
Computer and Information Sciences, GeneralBachelor's Degree78$93,295$24,669
Public HealthMaster's Degree78$81,658not reported
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and MethodsBachelor's Degree73$42,111$15,000
Show all 25 programs
Remaining programs
ProgramCredentialGraduatesEarnings, 5 yrsMedian debt
MedicineFirst Professional Degree70$196,850not reported
Social WorkMaster's Degree69$52,498not reported
Criminal Justice and CorrectionsBachelor's Degree68$43,784$25,942
Business Administration, Management and OperationsMaster's Degree67$74,671not reported
Communication and Media StudiesBachelor's Degree65$41,501$23,250
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationFirst Professional Degree65$137,685not reported
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment ProfessionsBachelor's Degree53not reported$24,568
Graphic CommunicationsBachelor's Degree49$37,167$24,217
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical NursingDoctoral Degree24$119,539not reported
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and AdministrationBachelor's Degree13not reportednot reported
Accounting and Related ServicesMaster's Degree14$85,389not reported
Educational Administration and SupervisionDoctoral Degree29$85,265not reported
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic ProfessionsDoctoral Degree38$83,355not reported

Source: College Scorecard field-of-study data.

Who goes here

East Tennessee State University: 10,004 undergraduates; 35% of students receive Pell grants; 86% of applicants are admitted.

Admission rate

86%

55th percentile among public 4-years

Undergraduates

10,004

72nd percentile among public 4-years

Pell share

35%

of undergraduates receive Pell grants

59th percentile among public 4-years

Completion

53%

finish within 150% of normal time

65th percentile among public 4-years

First-generation

38%

parents did not attend college

Median family income

$33,885

48th percentile among public 4-years

Students by family income

Share of students in each family-income bracket, for students who received federal aid.

  • Under $30k35%
  • $30k–$48k19%
  • $48k–$75k19%
  • $75k–$110k14%
  • Over $110k13%
Show as a table
Students by family income
Family incomeShare of students
Under $30k35%
$30k–$48k19%
$48k–$75k19%
$75k–$110k14%
Over $110k13%

Similar schools

These are the nearest neighbors in the same sector. The list is not an ordering.

Sources & caveats

Figures come from the U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard. Built 2026-07-17.

not reported
Not reported: suppressed for privacy or never collected. It is not zero, and nothing has been filled in.
Percentiles
A percentile compares this school with others in its own sector (for example, public 4-year schools). It describes position, not quality.
Earnings
Earnings cover students who received federal (Title IV) aid, measured from the year they entered. Students who never received federal aid are not included.
Provenance notes
  • U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard, 2026-06 release. Earnings cover federally aided (Title IV) students only. Suppressed values are null, never imputed.
  • Annual Scorecard files 1996-2026. A null in early years usually means the measure was not yet collected, not zero.
  • Coordinates and locale describe the campus address, not where students live.